Melbourne-Guide-Streetphotography-Biker-Australia-Travelblog

 

“If you compare Sydney and Melbourne, then Sydney is heaven and Melbourne is hell – but in a good way.” That’s what a Danish woman had said to me at the beach of Bondi (Sydney). After a curious look of me and a laugh from her, she added “It reminded me a litte bit of Berlin.” Now, my time in the young art metropolis, known worldwide for its excellent coffee culture, lies in the past, and I know exactly what my beach-encounter meant.


From the good hell I have brought, for all who want to test the comparison, today a Melbourne guide. If you are planning a trip to the metropolis, I would also like to suggest my blogposts to the hip districts Fitzroy and Collingwood, including a lot of stores, cafés and gallery recommendations, as well as the report about my favorite café in Melbourne: the Plug Nickel. At the end of this post, there is a map with all the tips in the overview.


 

Parliament-Water-Park-Melbourne-City-Guide-Travelblog

 

But before you start to read my last café recommendations for the birthplace of the Flat Whites, I would like to answer a frequently asked question: Melbourne or Sydney, which city I like more?


Sydney surprised me, really, and I would immediately would go back for a journey  here. But Melbourne … With Melbourne it was like love at the first, well, second look! For this city I could imagine to book a one way ticket. I had exciting encounters there, e.g. with the artist Gaston or the photographer Tim. And I’ve explored a lot of inspiring places. From the coffee I do not even want to begin – it is simply not comparable with the German standard and the coffeescene is still much bigger than the one in Sydney. So the answer to the question is clear: Melbourne!


And because I liked it so much in Melbourne, I also filmed my first travel video there – that is now online. Have fun when watching and feel free to comment me your opinion. Maybe there will be more moving picture here in the future!


 


But now to my guide: If you want to explore the special coffee scene in Melbourne, you should not skip the following tips.


 

Little-Rogue-Blue-Plants-Melbourne-third-wave-coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Urbanjunglebloggers

 

Before my departure in Down Under I visited here in Hamburg a small concert, in the cafe of a friend (the Tornqvist) and I met there an Australian musician. As a tip for my trip, he recommended me the Little Rogue and asked me to greet the guys there. A few weeks later I finally got there. Right in the center of Melbourne in a side street in front of a blue door, next to which a disproportionately big cat stuck at the wall.

 


Melbourne-journey-Specialty-Coffee-Guide-travelblog-Little-Rogue

 

In the looded by light spot played some Hiphop and two Asians stood behind the counter. After I had arranged the greetings (Joseph, if you read this: I should greet back!) I ordered here a Flat Whtie and a banana bread. Afterwards I made my way to a place at the window.

 


Little-Rogue-Melbourne-Drewery-Lane

 

The windows of the little café called Little Rogue are full of plant drains and have had my fascination since entering the blue door.

 


Little-Rogue-Blue-Plants-Melbourne-specialty-coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Urbanjunglebloggers

 

My conclusion: Breakfast is not available here, but I really liked the coffee and the atmosphere. The banana bread was also great and the idea with the many plants I would like to imitate immediately!

 

 
Specialty-Coffee-Melbourne-Little-Rogue-CBD-Urbanjunglebloggers

Little Rogue

12 Drewery Ln

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Melbourne Guide Travelblog journey

 

Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Third-wave-cofffee-Victoria-Melbourne-Barista

 

“Standing Room Only”, on the other hand, warned you when you enter Patricia Coffee Brewers. A café with its own shop floor, which has no seats? I could not imagine that, but you can find this kind of café actually here in Melbourne (apart from the few twisted drinks boxes in front of the black-painted exterior wall of the shop).

 

Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Cookies

 

Friendly it is nevertheless there and the baristas behind the long bar know exactly what they do. They conjure from the beans of the small batch roastery and from changing guest roasters high class specialty coffee in the middle of the district, in which it is teeming with suitcases. In addition, there are some goodies at Patricia, e.g. The croissants from the manufactory Lune.

 


Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Third-wave-cofffee-Victoria-Melbourne-Baristas-Little-Bourke-Street

 

Standing-room-only---Patricia-coffee-roasters-Melbourne

Patricia Coffee Brewers

Little Bourke St & Little William St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Melbourne-Tram-Inspiration-Travelblog-GUide

 

Street-Art-Melbourne-Wolf-Naomi

 

Street Art is, in addition to coffee, another flag ship of Melbournes. But it’s not everywhere allowed in the city – even if you get the impression here quickly. Especially in the small side streets (“lanes”) you can discover an infinite number of small and large urban works of art.

 


Graffiti-Eye-Degraves-St-Streetart-Melbourne

 

With the Hoiser Lane in Melbourne, however, there is also an area where urban art is legal. A visit here is just a shot of a moment, because Hoiser Lane is always changing. But it is worth it in my opinion very much to look over here, if you are in the city! You will not be disappointed of the many creative graffitis, murals and other kind of art.

 


Melbourne-Guide-Travelblog-Streetart-Hosier-Lane-Graffiti

 

Loiser Fanny Devert Artwork Hosier Lane

 

Market-Lane-Coffee-Melbourne-VictoriA-MARKET-SPECIALTY-Coffee-Third-wave-coffee-café

 

Over three years ago, I posted a photo of my Stockholm-Pinterestboard with the words “We love to make coffee for the city that loves to drink it.” After some research I realized that the picture actually was taken in Melbourne and pinnt it around. It may sounds crazy, but this photo with the beautiful sentence was not entirely innocent of my desire to travel to the other side of the world.


 

Market-Lane-Coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Specialty-Coffee

 

The windows on which they are stuck are part of Market Lane Coffee, which originated in a small café, around the corner of the famous Victoria market. When I finally entered the cafe during my trip and realized that one of my favorite bands – Oh Wonder from London – was playing in the little shop, I was just incredibly happy.

 


We-love-to-make-coffee-for-the-city-that-loves-to-drink-it

 

Specialty-Coffee-at-Market-Lane-Melbourne-Guide

Market Lane Coffee

109/111 Therry St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Street-Art-Melbourne-Mural-Australia-Bike

 

Melbourne Brother Baba Budan Specialty Coffee

 

And so we have already arrived at my last tip, Brother Baba Budan. The café in the Little Bourke Street is from one of Melbourne’s most famous coffee breweries: Small Batch.


 

coffee-Brother-Baba-Budan-by-seven-seeds-Specialty-Coffee

 

The many chairs that hang on the ceiling here are particularly impressive. But funnily there are not many seats on the floor itself. Really, there is just a single large table in the middle of the small area, as well as a few bar chairs at the counters. But it is still comfortable here and the coffee is great!


 

Brother-Baba-Budan-by-seven-seeds-Specialty

Brother Baba Budan

359 Little Bourke St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

 

Melbourne-St-Kilda-SUP-Harbour

 

I hope you enjoyed these Melbourne tips. All the others from the blog and the previous five are also available here on a map:

Melbourne-Guide-Streetphotography-Biker-Australia-Travelblog

 

„Wenn man Sydney und Melbourne vergleicht, dann ist Sydney der Himmel und Melbourne die Hölle – aber auf eine gute Weise.“ hatte eine Dänin am Strand von Bondi (Sydney) zu mir gesagt. Nach einem neugierigen Blick meinerseits und einem Lachen ihrerseits ergänzte sie „Es hat mich an Berlin erinnert.“ Nun liegt auch meine Zeit in der jungen Kunstmetropole, die weltweit für ihre hervorragende Kaffeekultur bekannt ist, in der Vergangenheit und ich weiß, was meine Strandbekanntschaft damals meinte.

Aus der guten Hölle habe ich, für alle die ihren Vergleich nachempfinden wollen, heute einen Melbourne Guide für euch. Wer eine Reise in die Metropole plant, dem empfehle ich außerdem meine Beiträge zu den Szenenvierteln Fitzroy und Collingwood inklusive vieler Läden, Café und Gallerie-Empfehlungen und den Bericht über mein Lieblingscafé im Melbourne, dem  Plug Nickel, zu lesen. Am Ende dieses Beitrags gibt es übrigens eine Karte mit allen Tipps in der Übersicht.

 

Parliament-Water-Park-Melbourne-City-Guide-Travelblog

 

Bevor es nun aber meine letzten Caféempfehlungen für die Geburtsstadt des Flat Whites für euch gibt, will ich noch eine oft gestellte Fragen beantworten: Melbourne oder Sydney, welche Stadt hat mir besser gefallen? 

Sydney hat mich überrascht, wirklich, und ich würde sofort wieder eine Reise hierhin machen. Aber Melbourne… Mit Melbourne war wie Liebe auf dem ersten, na gut, zweiten Blick! Hier könnte ich mir auch vorstellen ein one-way-ticket hin zu buchen. Ich hatte spannende Begegnungen dort, z.B. mit dem Künstler Gaston oder dem Fotografen Tim. Und ich habe sehr viele inspirierende Orte erkundet. Vom Kaffee fange ich gar nicht erst – der ist nämlich einfach nicht vergleichbar mit dem deutschen Standard und die Szene ist noch viel größer, als die in Sydney. Die Antwort auf die Frage ist also eindeutig: Melbourne!

Und weil es mir in Melbourne so gut gefallen hat, habe ich dort auch mein erstes Reisevideo gedreht, dass nun auch online ist. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen! Schreibt mir gerne, wie es euch gefällt. Vielleicht gibt es dann zukünftig mehr Bewegtbild hier.

 


 

Nun aber zu meinem Guide: Wer die besondere Kaffeeszene in Melbourne erkunden will, sollte die folgenden Tipps nicht auslassen.

 

Little-Rogue-Blue-Plants-Melbourne-third-wave-coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Urbanjunglebloggers

 

Vor meinem Abflug nach Down Under war ich bei uns in Hamburg auf einem kleinen Konzert, in dem Café eines Freundes (dem Tornqvist) und habe mich dort mit einem australischen Musiker unterhalten. Als Tipp für meine Reise hat er mir das das Little Rogue empfohlen und mich gebeten die Jungs dort von ihm zu grüßen. Einige Wochen später stand ich schließlich dort. Mitten im Zentrum vom Melbourne in einer Seitenstraße vor einer blauen Tür, neben der eine überproportional große Katze an der Wand klebte.

 

Melbourne-journey-Specialty-Coffee-Guide-travelblog-Little-Rogue

 

In dem hellen Laden lief laut Hiphop und zwei Asiaten standen hinter der Theke. Nachdem ich die Grüße ausgerichtet hatte (Joseph, falls du das liest: ich soll zurück grüßen!) bestellte ich hier einen Flat Whtie und Bananenbrot. Anschließend machte ich es mir am Fenster gemütlich.

 

Little-Rogue-Melbourne-Drewery-Lane

 

Die Fenster des kleinen Cafés namens Little Rogue (zu Deutsch „kleiner Schurke“)  sind voll mit Pflanzenablegern und hatte meine Faszination schon seit Betreten.

 

Little-Rogue-Blue-Plants-Melbourne-specialty-coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Urbanjunglebloggers

 

Mein Fazit: Frühstück gibt es hier zwar nicht, aber Kaffee und Atmosphäre haben mir sehr gefallen. Der Bananenbrot war super und die Idee mit den vielen Pflanzen möchte ich sofort nachmachen!

 

Specialty-Coffee-Melbourne-Little-Rogue-CBD-Urbanjunglebloggers

Little Rogue

12 Drewery Ln

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Melbourne Guide Travelblog journey

 

Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Third-wave-cofffee-Victoria-Melbourne-Barista

 

„Standing Room Only“ hingegen wird man gewarnt, wenn man das Patricia betritt. Ein Café mit eigener Ladenfläche, das keine Sitzplätze hat? Das konnte ich mir gar nicht vorstellen, gibt es in Melbourne aber tatsächlich (mal abgesehen von den paar umgedrehten Getränkekisten vor der schwarz angestrichenen Außenwand des Ladens).

 

Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Cookies

 

Freundlich ist es dort trotzdem und die Baristas hinter dem langen Tresen wissen genau was sie machen. Sie zaubern aus den Bohnen der Rösterei Small Batch und von wechselnden Gaströstern erstklassigen Kaffee mitten in Stadtteil, in dem es von Anzugsträgern nur so wimmelt. Außerdem gibt es bei Patricia einige Leckereien, z.B. die Croissants von der Manufaktur Lune.

 

Patricia-Coffee-Roasters-Third-wave-cofffee-Victoria-Melbourne-Baristas-Little-Bourke-Street

 

Standing-room-only---Patricia-coffee-roasters-Melbourne

Patricia Coffee Brewers

Little Bourke St & Little William St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Melbourne-Tram-Inspiration-Travelblog-GUide

 

Street-Art-Melbourne-Wolf-Naomi

 

Street Art ist neben der Kaffeekultur ein weiteres Aushängeschild Melbournes. Überall in der Stadt erlaubt, ist es jedoch nicht – auch wenn man den Eindruck hier schnell bekommt. Insbesondre in den kleinen Seitenstraßen („Lanes“ genannt) lassen sich unendlich viele kleine und große urbanen Kunstwerke entdecken.

 

Graffiti-Eye-Degraves-St-Streetart-Melbourne

 

Mit der Hoiser Lane gibt es in Melbourne aber tatsächlich auch einen Bereich an denen die urbane Kunst vollkommen legal ist. Ein Besuch hier ist deshalb immer nur einen Momentaufnahme, denn die Hoiser Lane ist stets im Wandel. Es lohnt sich meiner Meinung nach aber sehr hier mal vorbei zu schauen, wenn man in der Stadt ist! Enttäuschen werden einen die vielen kreativen Graffitis, Murals und andere Formen an Kunstwerken sicher nicht.

 

Melbourne-Guide-Travelblog-Streetart-Hosier-Lane-Graffiti

 

Loiser Fanny Devert Artwork Hosier Lane

 

Market-Lane-Coffee-Melbourne-VictoriA-MARKET-SPECIALTY-Coffee-Third-wave-coffee-café

Vor gut drei Jahren habe ich ein Foto auf meine Stockholm-Pinterestpinnwald gepostet auf dem stand „We love to make coffee for the city that loves to drink it.“ Irgendwann realisierte ich, dass das Bild in Melbourne aufgenommen wurde und pinnt es kurzerhand um. Es mag verrückt klingen, aber dieses Foto mit dem schönen Satz, war nicht ganz unschuldig an meinem Verlangen auf die andere Seite der Welt zu reisen.

 

Market-Lane-Coffee-Melbourne-Guide-Specialty-Coffee

 

Die Fensterscheibe auf der sie stehen, gehört zu der Rösterei Market Lane, die ihren Ursprung in einem kleinen Café, um die Ecke des beühmtem Victoria Markts hat. Als ich das Café während meiner Reise schließlich betrat und erkannte, dass gerade eine meiner Lieblingsbands – Oh Wonder aus London – in dem kleinen Laden lief, war mein Glück perfekt.

 

We-love-to-make-coffee-for-the-city-that-loves-to-drink-it

 

Specialty-Coffee-at-Market-Lane-Melbourne-Guide

Market Lane Coffee

109/111 Therry St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

Street-Art-Melbourne-Mural-Australia-Bike

 

Melbourne Brother Baba Budan Specialty Coffee

 

Und damit sind wir schon bei meinem letzten Tipp angekommen: dem Brother Baba Budan. Das Café in der Little Bourke Street gehört zu der in Melbourne sehr bekannten Kaffeerösterei Small Batch.

 

coffee-Brother-Baba-Budan-by-seven-seeds-Specialty-Coffee

 

Besonders herausstechen tun die vielen Stühle, die hier an der Decke hängen. Sitzplätze gibt es jedoch nicht viele. Einen einziger großer Tisch steht in der Mitte des kleinen Ladens, sowie ein paar Barhocker an den Theken. Gemütlich ist es aber trotzdem. Mit längeren Wartezeiten sollte man jedoch rechnen, wenn man hier vorbeischaut.

 

Brother-Baba-Budan-by-seven-seeds-Specialty

Brother Baba Budan

359 Little Bourke St

Melbourne VIC 3000

 

 

Melbourne-St-Kilda-SUP-Harbour

 

Ich hoffe euch haben diese Melbourne Tipps gefallen, alle weiteren auf dem Blog erschienenen und die vorherigen fünf gibt es hier auf einer Karte: