Mecca Coffee Roastery Sydney Specialty Coffee Interior


Last week I started with the first part of my Sydney guide (see here) to take you to the metropolis on the other side of the world. The second part of my tips and a final overview map is available today.




I would like to start with a café called Mecca. It is at the same time a roastery and located a little bit outside the city center. However, it is very easy to go there by train, and I guarantee to all the coffee lovers reading among you: You will not be disappointed to have taken the little trip here! Just by entering the large, bright café, this beautiful place had already aroused all my sympathy. Black and white tiles, high ceilings and some of plants adorn the great space.


An employee greeted me kindly and was just starting to ask what I wanted to have when her glance fell on my camera. At the same moment, the chef roaster passed us and she promptly introduced me. Instead of ordering, I followed his spontaneous invitation to explore the roastery. An hour later, I knew not only all the terms of coffee roasting in English and had a look at the roastery process itself – from the green bean, over the first crack to the finished roast – I also had managed to miss the closing time of the café.




For a coffee at Mecca it was meanwhile too late, but for that I visited the café a few days later again. Looking back the best thing for me here was that the people were so open-minded to me, without knowing my coffee-background. From my blog, the roaster himself first experienced, when another employee – shortly before the farewell – asked me, what I actually do. I will not forget the astonished look of the two!


Mecca Specialty Coffee Sydney Roasting



26 Bourke Rd

Alexandria NSW 2015




Carriageworks Sydney Guide


Also a little bit outside Sydneys center are the halls of Carriageworks, a former railway station, where contemporary artists from various fields work. The converted rooms here are used for offices and studios. But also exhibitions, workshops and other events are take place alternately. Every Saturday, e.g. you can buy seasonal products as well as extraordinary food creations at the stands of the Carriageworks Farmers Market. If you miss the market, I highly recommend the toasted banana bread with caramel butter at Cornerstone Bar & Food – a restaurant that is also located in the light-flooded halls and fits perfectly into the industrial setting.


Carriageworks Sydney multi-arts institutions







245 Wilson St

Eveleigh NSW 2015




The next two tips are again a bit more in side Sydney’s center, to be exactly in the area around Potts Point. You should not be deterred by the loud bars and hostels around the Kings Cross station, because once you leave them, you will be rewarded. For a whole day I walked through the small streets and I fell in love with the neighborhood with the many style decor architecture. Every Sunday, the Potts Point Market takes place here, on which I photographed the two following pictures.








Also the coffee shop I visited the most, while I was in Sydney, can be found in Potts Point: Room 10. At first glance it is a rather inconspicuous place, but there you will probably get the best coffee and the most delicious food in surroundings. Therefore it is at certain times and with sunshine not so easy to get a place on the area in front of the café. Whole-day-breakfast, delicious lunch and an always friendly operator with motivated crew, lure the many guests. In addition, for the hot days in the metropolis not to forget: delicious Ice Coffee. By the way the coffee you can drink here is from Mecca, the roastery I presented above.






Room 10

10 Llankelly Pl

Sydney NSW 2011


If you want to drink something alcoholic in Potts Pinot, and maybe also eat, I can highly recommend Dumpling & Beer. One evening during my Australia-trip I was spontaneously eating here with a Danish woman, whom I had met at Bondi Beach in the morning. It was my first time Dim-Sum and I liked the food and the atmosphere in the little restaurant very much.




Last I would like to give you a few tips away from cafés and shops. I usually bypass the typical tourist spots in every city, but of course I could not miss to see Sydneys famous Opera House! Also in the botanical garden and the museum of New South Wales I spent some great time.






To Sydney there were several posts on this blog and also a first part of this Sydney Guide. All the café recommendations (such as the beautiful Single O in Surry Hills), store tips and my article about Bondi Beach and Shelly Beach in Manley can be seen on the following map and in the linked articles.

Mecca Coffee Roastery Sydney Specialty Coffee Interior

 

Letzte Woche habe ich mit Teil 1 meines Sydney Guides (siehe hier) begonnen euch in die Metropole auf der anderen Seite der Welt mitzunehmen. Den zweiten Teil meiner Tipps und eine abschließende Übersichtskarte gibt es im heutigen Beitrag.

 

Mecca-Coffee-Roastery-Café-Sydney-Specialty-Coffee

 

Anfangen möchte ich mit einem Café namens Mecca. Es ist gleichzeitig eine Rösterei und liegt ein wenig außerhalb des Stadtzentrums. Mit der U-Bahn ist es jedoch sehr schnell zu erreichen und ich garantiere allen Kaffeefreunden unter euch: Ihr werdet nicht enttäuscht sein, die kleine Reise hierhin auf euch genommen zu haben! Allein beim Betreten des großen, hellen Cafés hatte dieser schöne Ort schon all meine Sympathie geweckt. Schwarz-weiße Fliesen, hohe Decken und jede Menge Pflanzen schmücken den großen Raum.

Eine Mitarbeiterin begrüßte mich freundlich und fing gerade an zu fragen, was ich haben möchte, als ihr Blick auf meine Kamera fiel. Im gleichen Moment ging der Chefröster an uns vorbei, denn sie mir prompt vorstellte. Statt zu bestellen, folgte ich seiner spontanen Einladung mir die Rösterei anzugucken. Eine Stunde später wusste ich nicht nur alle Begriffe des Kaffeeröstens auf Englisch, sondern durfte auch direkt beim Vorgang selbst zugucken – von der grünen Bohne, über den ersten Crack, hin zur fertigen Röstung – und hatte es so geschafft, den Ladenschluss zu verpassen.

 

Mecca-Coffee-Roastery-Sydney-Specialty-Coffee-Roaster

 

Für einen Kaffee im Mecca selbst war es mittlerweile zwar zu spät, aber für den habe ich das Café ein paar Tage später dann noch mal besucht. Am Besten hat mir hier aber der Fakt gefallen, dass man so offen mir gegenüber war, ohne meinen Hintergrund zu kennen. Von meinem Blog hat der Röster selbst nämlich erst erfahren, als mich ein weiterer Mitarbeiter kurz vor der Verabschiedung fragte, was ich eigentlich mache. Den erstaunten Blick der beiden werde ich so schnell nicht vergessen!

 

Mecca Specialty Coffee Sydney Roasting

 

Mecca

26 Bourke Rd

Alexandria NSW 2015

 

Sydney-Street-Art-Mirrors-Sunshine-Bokeh

 

Carriageworks Sydney Guide

 

Ebenfalls etwas außerhalb gelegen sind die Hallen von Carriageworks, einem ehemaligen Bahnhofsgelände, in dem zeitgenössische Künstler aus den verschiedensten Bereichen arbeiten. Die umgebauten Räumlichkeiten hier werden für Büros und Ateliers genutzt und es finden abwechselnd Ausstellungen, Workshops und andere Events statt. Jeden Samstag z.B. kann man saisonale Produkte, aber auch außergewöhnliche Foodkreationen, an den Ständen des Carriageworks Farmers Markets kaufen. Wer den Markt verpasst, den kann ich das getoastete Bananenbrot mit Karamellbutter bei Cornerstone Bar & Food sehr empfehlen – einem Restaurant, das sich ebenfalls in den lichtdurchfluteten Hallen befindet und wunderbar in die industrielle Einrichtung passt.

 

Carriageworks Sydney multi-arts institutions

 

Carriageworks-Sydney-Banana-Bread

 

Cornerstone-Bar-&-Food-Carriageworks

Carriageworks

245 Wilson St

Eveleigh NSW 2015

 

Jackie-Onnasis-Back-Home-Again-Street-Art-Sydney-Music

 

Die beiden nächsten Tipps befinden sich wieder etwas mehr in Sydneys Zentrum, um genau zu sein in der Gegend um Potts Point. Abschrecken darf man sich hier nicht von den Kneipen und Hostels rund um die Kings Cross Station, denn wenn man die erst einmal hinter sich gelassen hat, wird man belohnt. Einen ganzen Tag bin ich durch die kleinen Straßen spaziert und habe mich ein wenig in die Nachbarschaft mit der vielen Art-Dekor-Architektur verliebt. Jeden Sonntag findet hier der Potts Point Market statt, auf dem auch die zwei folgenden Bilder entstanden sind.

 

Sydney-Guide-Potts-Point-Market

 

Sydney-Guide-Potts-Point-Market-Plants

 

The-Cross-Art-Projects-Potts-Point-Sydney-Guide-Room-10-Specialty-Coffee

 

Auch das Café, das ich am meisten besucht habe, während ich in Sydney war, findet ihr in Potts Point: Room 10. Auf dem ersten Blick ist es ein eher unscheinbarer Ort, aber hier gibt es wohl den besten Kaffee und das leckerste Essen in der Umgebung. Deshalb ist es zu bestimmten Zeiten und bei Sonnenschein auch gar nicht so leicht einen Platz vor dem Laden zu bekommen. Den ganzen Tag Frühstück, leckeres Lunch und ein immer freundlicher Betreiber samt motivierter Crew, locken die vielen Gäste an. Außerdem, für die heißen Tage in der Metropole nicht zu vergessen: köstlicher Ice Coffee. Verwendet wird hier im Übrigen auch der Kaffee von der weiter oben vorgestellten Mecca Rösterei.

 

Room-10-Sydney-Potts-point-Specialty-coffee-guide

 

Room-10-Specialty-coffee-and-breakfast-Sydney-Mecca

 

Room 10

10 Llankelly Pl

Sydney NSW 2011

 

Wer dann doch etwas Alkoholisches trinken möchte, und auch noch Hunger hat, dem kann ich in Potts Point Dumpling & Beer sehr empfehlen. Hier war ich eines Abends während meiner Australienreise spontan mit einer Dänin essen, die ich vormittags zufällig am Bondi Beach kennengelernt hatte. Es war mein erstes Mal Dim-Sum und ich mochte neben dem Essen auch die Atmosphäre in dem kleinen Laden sehr.

 

Australien-Botanical-Garden-Sydney-Guide

 

Zuletzt möchte ich euch heute noch ein paar Tipps abseits von Cafés und Läden mitgeben. Normalerweise umgehe ich zwar die typischen Touristenspots in jeder Stadt, aber ein Besuch am berühmten Opera House konnte ich natürlich in Sydney nicht auslassen. Auch im botanischen Garten und dem Museum of New South Wales habe ich einige Zeit verbracht und das sehr genossen.

 

Sydney-Travelguide-Australia-Blog

 

Sydney-Guide-Botanical-Garden

 

Zu Sydney gab es mehrere Beiträge auf dem Blog und auch einen ersten Teil dieses Sydney Guides. Alle Cafétipps (wie z.B. das schöne Single O in Surry Hills), Lädenempfehlungen und meine Berichte über die Strände Bondi Beach und Manlys Shelly Beach könnt ihr auf der folgenden Karte und in den verlinkten Artikeln sehen.