Houses New York USA

The city that never sleeps. Big Apple. World capital. New York has many nicknames and, above all, offers even more exciting places and cultures. I’ve visited some of them between the skyscrapers in southern Manhattan and the corners of the quieter, but no less exciting, Brooklyn. My favorite places for Lower Manhattan are now in this blogpost. Tips for Williamsburg, Greenpoint and Bushwick will follow in the next article.

Two-Hands-Australian-Café New York

In the district of Nolita (short for North of Little Italy) are a variety of boutiques, bars and cafes. One of them is Two Hands. In 2014 it was opened by two Australians in a bright, high-ceilinged shop. Since then, on the border with China Town, there is much that makes the breakfast heart beat louder. In a typically Australian-relaxed atmosphere you can have avocado toast with poached egg or granola, for example. Served with fresh juice or a flat white. For the coffee, the beans are sourced from the New York micro-roaster Café Integral – a recommendation that I introduce to you below.

Two Hands Coffee New York

The two owners Giles Russell (picture above left) and Henry Roberts (picture below) already knew each other from Sydney, the birthplace of both. However, they did not had the finally idea for Two Hands until they met again in New York. From then they took two years to make the best out oft the idea and turn the café into reality.

Two-Hands-Henry-Roberts-Australian-Brunchspot

With the same dedication to fresh food and a nice atmosphere, Giles and Henry meanwhile also run a restaurant in Tribeca. In contrast to the café, this one is also open for dinner.

Two Hands Coffee and Brunchplace New York USA

Two_Hands_Nolita_New_York_Guide_Frühstückstipp_Manhatten

Two Hands

164 Mott St
New York, NY 10013

New-York-Nolita-District-Restaurants

Nolita district NYC

New York Guide McNally Jackson Indiebookstore Lolita Manhattan

Not only since I am a founder of a small publishing house, my heart beats a bit higher with special bookstores. A very nice example of this type is McNally Jackson. The store at Prince St (also in the Nolita district) offers a large selection of independent magazines and books on two floors – mainly from the fields of design, art, culture and travel. But novels and other genres are also represented. If you want to stay longer, you can make yourself comfortable in the adjoining café area of the bookshop.

McNally Jackson Indiebooks Lolita Manhattan New York

New York Guide McNally Jackson Indiependet Booksellers

McNally Jackson Independent Booksellers and Cafe

52 Prince St

New York, NY 10012

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA _2

Another tip for coffee lovers between you is Café Integral. Owner Cesar Martin Vega was born in Nicaragua and has a strong family background with coffee: his family has coffee plantations in the north of the Central American country for decades. For his roasting he has therefore committed to only use Nicaraguan beans.

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA

Café Integral at Elizabeth St turns the roasted beans into espresso specialties such as flat white and cappuccino, as well as cold drinks such as Nitro Cold Brew – cold-extracted coffee enriched with nitrogen. Also very popular here: Matcha Fizz, a homemade creation of Matcha tea, honey, lime and soda.

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA _1

Café Integral

149 Elizabeth St

New York, NY 10012

Skyline New York Manhattan Usa

Tacos or burritos? That’s the question at Luchadores near the Wall Street in Financial District. Or would you prefer quesadillas? No matter what you decide on – the food will be freshly prepared. The Mexican food spot with its small terrace is part of the category uncomplicated. At the same time, it could also be part of a film set (including excellent catering) and maybe that’s what makes it so interesting.

Tacos vs Burritos New York Wallstreet Lunchspot

Luchadores

87 South St

New York, NY 1003

These were my favorite recommendations for Lower Manhattan. The next article we cross the East River to Brooklyn.

Dumbo New York USA

Wusstest du, dass die "Fräulein Anker"-Autorin auch Gründerin eines Buchverlages ist?

Hallo Hamburg, Kopenhagen & Amsterdam: für das leichtfüßige flanieren abseits der Touristenströme.
ZUM ONLINE SHOP
close-link

Houses New York USA

 

Die Stadt, die niemals schläft. Big Apple. Welthauptstadt. Die Metropole New York trägt viele Spitznamen und bietet einen vor allem noch mehr spannende Plätze und Kulturen. Einigen bin ich zwischen den Wolkenkratzern im südlichen Manhattan und den Ecken vom ruhigeren, aber nicht weniger spannenden, Brooklyn begegnet. Meine Lieblingsorte für Lower Manhattan gibt es nun in diesem Beitrag. Tipps für Williamsburg, Greenpoint und Bushwick folgen im nächsten Artikel.

 

Two-Hands-Australian-Café New York

 

Im Stadtteil Nolita (kurz für North of Little Italy) befinden sich eine Vielzahl an Boutiquen, Bars und Cafés. So auch das Two Hands. 2014 wurde es von zwei Australiern in einem hellen Laden mit hoher Decke eröffnet. Auf der Grenze zu China Town gibt es seit dem, in typisch australisch-entspannter Atmosphäre, vieles was das Frühstücksherz begehrt: Avocadotoast mit pochiertem Ei und Granola zum Beispiel. Dazu wird häufig frischer Saft oder ein Flat White serviert. Für Letzteres werden die Bohnen von dem New Yorker Mikroröster Café Integral bezogen – eine Empfehlung, die ich euch weiter unten vorstelle.

 

Two Hands Coffee New York

 

Die zwei Inhaber Giles Russell (Foto o. l.) und Henry Roberts (Bild u.), kannten sich bereits aus Sydney, dem Geburtsort beider. Die Idee für Two Hands entwickelten sie aber erst nach einem Wiedersehen in New York. Zwei Jahre dauerte es, bis sie hier die gemeinsame Idee für das Café in die Realität umwandelten.

 

Two-Hands-Henry-Roberts-Australian-Brunchspot

 

Mit der gleichen Hingabe für frisches Essen und schöner Atmosphäre führen Giles und Henry mittlerweile übrigens auch ein Restaurant in Tribeca. Dieses hat im Gegensatz zu dem Café auch spät abends geöffnet – dann wandelt sich die Espressotheke hier aber in eine Cocktailbar um.

 

Two Hands Coffee and Brunchplace New York USA

 

Two_Hands_Nolita_New_York_Guide_Frühstückstipp_Manhatten

Two Hands

164 Mott St
New York, NY 10013

 

New-York-Nolita-District-Restaurants

 

Nolita district NYC

 

 

New York Guide McNally Jackson Indiebookstore Lolita Manhattan

 

Nicht erst seit ich selbst Gründerin eines kleinen Buchverlages bin, schlägt mein Herz bei besonderen Buchhandlungen etwas höher. Ein ganz besonders Exemplar dieser Art ist McNelly Jackson. Der Laden in der Prince St (ebenfalls im Stadtteil Nolita) bietet auf zwei Stockwerken eine große Auswahl an Independent Magazinen und Büchern – vor allem aus dem Bereich Design, Kunst, Kultur und Reisen. Romane und andere Genres sind aber auch vertreten. Wer länger verweilen möchte, kann es sich im angeschlossenen Cafébereich des Buchladens gemütlich machen.

 

McNally Jackson Indiebooks Lolita Manhattan New York

 

New York Guide McNally Jackson Indiependet Booksellers

McNally Jackson Independent Booksellers and Cafe

52 Prince St

New York, NY 10012

 

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA _2

 

Ein weiterer Tipp für Kaffeefreunde ist der Laden der Mikrorösterei Café Integral. Inhaber Cesar Martin Vega ist in Nicaragua geboren und hat einen starken familiären Bezug zum Thema Kaffee: Seine Familie besitzt seit Jahrzehnten Kaffeeplantagen im Norden des mittelamerikanischen Landes. Für seine Rösterei hat er sich deshalb verpflichtet nur nicaraguanische Bohnen zu importieren und zu rösten.

 

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA

 

Im Café Integral in der Elizabeth St werden aus den Röstungen typische Espressospezialitäten wie Flat White und Cappuccino aber auch kalte Getränke wie Nitro Cold Brew – kalt extrahierter Kaffee, der mit Stickstoff angereichert wird. Außerdem bei den Gästen hier sehr beliebt: Matcha Fizz. Eine Eigenkreation zubereitet aus Matcha Tee, Honig, Limette und Soda.

 

Cafe Intergral Notlita New York USA _1

Café Integral

149 Elizabeth St

New York, NY 10012

 

Skyline New York Manhattan Usa

 

Tacos oder Burritos? Das ist die Frage bei Luchadores unweit der Wall Street im Financial District. Oder doch lieber Quesadillas? Egal wofür man sich entscheidet – die Speisen werden frisch vor Ort zubereitet. Der mexikanische Imbiss mit kleiner Terrasse ist eher in die Kategorie  Unkompliziert einzuordnen. Gleichzeitig könnte er aber auch Teil einer Filmkulisse sein (samt exzellenten Catering) und vielleicht macht ihn gerade das so interessant.

 

Tacos vs Burritos New York Wallstreet Lunchspot

Luchadores

87 South St

New York, NY 1003

 

Das waren meine Lieblingstipps für Lower Manhattan. Im nächsten Beitrag geht es über den East River nach Brooklyn.

 

Dumbo New York USA