Sydney Farry to Manly Traveblog


Thanks to the roaster of the roastery Mecca, that I visited a few days ago, on my Sydney to-do list was written: “Ferry to Manly – coffee @barefoot on wentworth st and walk from bower st to shelly beach”. Sean, from the specialty coffee place Neighbourhood in the district Surry Hill, also gave me this recommendation and asked me to greet the Barista Fergus. So I made an ferry trip last Sunday to Manly!

Conveniently, my first hostel (I will tell you a little bit more about this in my final Sydney guide with all tips in the overview) was just a short walk away from the ferry dock. The excursion to Manly worth it alone already because of the great view you have during the ferry trip – my photographer heart beat faster as we passed the Opera House, the Harbor Bridge and Sydney’s North…

Arrived in Manly, I went straight to the café. I hadn’t breakfast till yet and also I also reserved the enjoyment of the first coffee of the day for this place. Because of two large windows, Barefoot was a wonderfully bright Place on this day. I ordered a breakfast with avocado, fried tomatoes and mushrooms – and a flat white of curse.


Barefoot Coffee Traders Manly Breakfast


The walls of the square café decorate some beautiful tiles. In the middle of the room is a large table, where during my visit a few guests sat – it quickly turns out that, despite the many tourists in Manly, those guest were regulars. In my opinion, this can always be interpreted as a good sign.


Barefoot Manly-Sydney-Specialty-Coffee-Australi Beach


The relaxed atmosphere in the room, the people who breakfasted and talked about their weekend, and my delicious coffee – that was the perfect mix for a Sunday morning. Because I immersed deep into a book about the coffee culture of New South Wales, which was lying in the cafe, it was already noon when I went to the beach.


The specialy coffee Book New South Wales Sydney


Sydney Manly Beach


Barefoot Coffee Traders

18 Whistler St
Sydney NSW 2095


Sydney Manly


During the next two hours I sat down at a shady spot, read something in my travel guide, and watched the other beach visitors. For an afternoon coffee, I decided to visit the second place of the Café Barefoot on Whistler Street – the owner told me about this place in the morning and I I had become curious.




Manly Barefoot Beach Sydney Travelblog


To my delight, I reached the café as long as it was open. An experience that I had to make fast here in Australia, is that most coffee places close already around four o’clock. A girl in another cafe explained me a few days ago: “Australians are morning coffee lovers”.

So in spite of this fact, I was able to enjoy a cup of coffee in the afternoon here. Also in the second place of barefoot the interior was beautiful and to my joy different than in the first coffee place – because I like individuality very much, I am often skeptical, if a cafe has several shops.


Sydney Barefoot Manly Coffee spot


After a short conversation with the two baristas about other café tips for the next city on my journey plan (Melbourne) I made my way back to the ferry. Really a nice trip out of the big streets of the metropolis, was my day in Manly for me. For a comparison with Bondi Beach it is still too early as I was not there yet, but in a bit I will tell you, which beach I better liked!


Barefoot Manly Sydney Specialty Coffee 2


Barefoot Coffee Traders

18 Whistler St
Sydney NSW 2095


Sydney Ferry Circular Quay Travelblog Manly

Sydney Farry to Manly Traveblog

 

Dank dem Röster von Café Mecca, das ich vor ein paar Tagen besucht habe, stand auf meiner Sydney To-do-Liste: „Ferry to Manly – coffee @barefoot on Wentworth St and walk from Bower St to Shelly Beach“. Auch Sean von dem im Stadtteil Surry Hill gelegenen Café Neighbourhood gab mir diese Empfehlung und bat mich den Barista Fergus von ihm zu grüßen. Also machte ich mich am vergangenem Sonntag auf, um einen Ausflug mit der Fähre nach Manly zu machen.

Praktischerweise lag mein erstes Hostel (von dem ich euch in meinem abschließenden Sydney Guide mit allen Tipps in der Übersicht noch genauer berichten werde) nur einen kurzen Fußweg vom Fähranleger entfernt. Schon allein wegen der Fährfahrt lohnt sich ein Ausflug nach Manly – während wir vorbei am Opera House, der Harbour Bridge und Sydneys Norden fuhren, schlug mein Fotografenherz ein paar Takte höher.

Angekommen in Manly machte ich mich direkt auf zu besagtem Cafétipp. Ich hatte noch nicht gefrühstückt und auch den Genuss vom ersten Kaffee des Tages hatte ich mir für diesen Ort aufgespart. In dem durch zwei große Fenster wunderbar hellen Barefoot bestellte ich also ein großes Frühstück mit Avocado, gebratenen Tomaten und Champignons – dazu einen Flat White.

 

Barefoot Coffee Traders Manly Breakfast

 

Die Wände des quadratischen Cafés zieren einige schöne Fliesen. In der Mitte des Raumes steht ein großer Tisch, an dem während meines Besuchs ein paar Gäste saßen – es stellt sich schnell raus, dass es trotz der vielen Touristen in Manly, Stammgäste waren. So etwas lässt sich meiner Meinung nach immer als ein gutes Zeichen deuten.

 

Barefoot Manly-Sydney-Specialty-Coffee-Australi Beach

 

Die entspannte Atmosphäre in dem Raum, mit den Menschen, die frühstückten und sich über ihr Wochenende unterhielten, und mein leckerer Kaffee – das war die perfekte Mischung für einen Sonntagmorgen. Weil ich mich so tief in ein in dem Café rumliegendes Buch über die Kaffeekultur von New South Wales vertiefte, war es bereits Mittags, als ich zum Strand aufbrach.

 

The specialy coffee Book New South Wales Sydney

 

Sydney Manly Beach

 

Barefoot Coffee Traders

18 Whistler St
Sydney NSW 2095

 

Sydney Manly

 

Während der nächsten zwei Stunden ließ ich mich an einem schattigen Plätzchen nieder, las etwas in meinem Reiseführer und beobachtete die anderen Strandbesucher. Für einen Nachmittagskaffee beschloss ich mir den zweiten Laden vom Café Barefoot in der Whistler Street anzuschauen – von dem hatte mir der Besitzer am Morgen berichtet und ich war ein wenig neugierig.

 

Manly-Farrytrip-Beach-Sydney-Travelblog-Australia

 

Manly Barefoot Beach Sydney Travelblog

 

Zu meiner Freude erreichte ich das Café noch, solange es geöffnet hatte. Eine Erfahrung, die ich hier in Australien schnell machen musste, ist es nämlich, dass die meisten Cafés bereits gegen vier Uhr schließen. „Australier sind Morgenkaffeegenießer“ erklärte mir ein Mädchen in einem anderem Café vor ein paar Tagen.

Ich konnten an diesem Tag also trotz dessen, einen für australische Verhältnisse späten Kaffee genießen. Auch in dem zweiten Laden war das Interior schön und zu meiner Freude anders als in dem ersten Café – da ich Individualität sehr gerne mag, bin ich häufig skeptisch, wenn zu einem Café mehrere Läden gehören.

 

Sydney Barefoot Manly Coffee spot

 

Nach einer kurzen Unterhaltung mit den zwei Baristas über weitere Cafétipps für die nächste Stadt auf meinem Reiseplan (Melbourne) machte ich mich wieder auf Richtung Fähre. Wirklich ein schöner Ausflug, etwas raus aus der großen Metropole, war mein Tag in Manly für mich. Für einen Vergleich mit Bondi Beach ist es noch zu früh, da ich bis jetzt noch nicht da war, aber ich werde euch dann berichten, welcher Strand mit besser gefallen hat!

 

Barefoot Manly Sydney Specialty Coffee 2

 

Barefoot Coffee Traders

18 Whistler St
Sydney NSW 2095

 

Sydney Ferry Circular Quay Travelblog Manly