Australia-Sydney-Travelguide-Recommendations

 

Admittedly, my Australia trip is already a few weeks ago, but all good things are worth waiting for it hmm? So now start the last posts of my time in Down Under. The beginning is about the first half of a city guide for Sydney. It should give you a good overview of my favorite recommendations for this metropolis. Tomorrow follows a second part (with an overview map, as in all my city guides), which I will then naturally link below.


But first I want to tell you one simple fact: Sydney blown me off! Originally I just planned to stay five days, but because I was so surprised after the first hours  here I extended to eight days really quick. Too beautiful were the beaches, too exciting the different districts and too good the coffee in the many cafes that I discovered.


 

Sydney Guide Surry Hills Reuben hills

 

The first café I want to recommend is located on the border between the hip neighborhoods of Darlinghurst and Surry Hills. The Reuben Hills has good coffee and delicious food. I enjoyed the rustic atmosphere here with the unplastered bricks, lots of concrete and wooden furniture. While the first floor is about drinking coffee the second floor is used to roast the coffee. I also liked the art installation of neon tubes here and the open flair of the rooms, which is created by the open gate (see picture below) and some recess in the false ceiling.

 

Reuben Hills Surry Hill Sydney Café Specialty Coffee Place Hipster

 

Reuben Hills

61 Albion St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

Flowers-Sydney-Summer-Australie-Travelblog-Guide

 

Bourke-Street-Bakery-Sydney-Hipster-Guide

 

Anyone who appreciates good pastry should not miss the Bourke Street Bakery in Sydney – it is said to have the best bread and cakes in the city. The bakery now has more than ten stores, but the most popular is the original one in the name giving Bourke Street. A great spot for breakfast!

 


Bourke-Street-Bakery-Sydney-Surry-Hills-Bourke-Street

 

Bourke Street Bakery

633 Bourke St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

Sydney Guide

 

Neighbourhood by Sean McManus Surry Hills Sydney

 

Something special for coffee fans is Neighborhood by Sean McManus. Despite a few seats, the name “Café” is perhaps a bit exaggerated, but a very coveted place, which looks a little bit like a hole in the wall, in anyway. In addition to coffee, I think that the special atmosphere here is made from the people around. Owner Sean McManus knows everyone from the neighborhood – office workers, creatives … Since the environment mostly consists of offices, the café itself is, incidentally, only open from Mondays to Fridays. During my time in Sydney by the way, I noticed that many of the café owners I met have been Barista at Single O – the café I’ve introduced to you some time ago – this applies to Sean McManus too.

 


Neighbourhood-by-Sean-McManus-Specialty-Coffee-Barista-Surry-Hills-Sydney

 

Neighbourhood by Sean McManus

16 Buckingham St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

While I still discovered a few croissants at Neighborhood, the specialty coffee focus at my last café recommendation for today is one number more extreme: Just coffee, nothing else. But the coffee here is particularly good and the two founders of the Artificer (in German “Creator”) are standing behind their concept with much conviction and talent. Even the interior of the café, which is located in a quiet area, is minimalist – true to the motto of high-class coffee without distraction.


 

Artificer Specilty Coffee Thirdwave Coffee Surry Hills Guide

 

Attention lovers of beautiful paper products and graphic design: At Beautiful Pages on Oxford Street I have felt hours to browse through several beautiful travel guides, books and independent magazines you can buy here. There are also posters and DVD’s. Walking along Oxford Street is also worthwhile because of many more beautiful shops, which are located here.

 

 

Sydney Beuatiful Pages Magazine Store

 

Beautiful Pages

114 Oxford St
Darlinghurst NSW 2010

 

Sydney Hostel Harbour YHA - The Rocks Yoga

 

Last I would like to tell you today where I slept while I was in Sydney: at Sydney Harbor YHA - The Rocks - a hostel named after the surrounded harbour district. It is not a typical party-backpacker hostel, rather a family friendly place. During my days here it was visited by a mixed audience, which I found very pleasant.

In addition to fairly clean rooms and a huge kitchen, there is a roof terrace with an incredible view over the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Although he was sometimes disturbed a bit by cruising ships docked in the harbor, he was always impressive. I remembered exactly how I stood on this terrace one morning at six o'clock to attend the free yoga class, which is offered once a week. This was definitely the best sun salutation (literally) which I've practice so far.

 

Sydney Hostel Harbour YHA - The Rocks

 

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

110 Cumberland St
The Rocks NSW 2000

 

 

— For the second part of this Sydney Guide please click here —

Australia-Sydney-Travelguide-Recommendations

 

Zugegeben meine Australienreise ist bereites ein paar Wochen her, aber was lange währt, wird endlich gut, hmm? Es geht nun also los mit den letzten Beiträgen meiner Zeit in Down Under. Den Anfang macht die erste Hälfte meines Städteguides für Sydney. Er soll euch einen guten Überblick über meine liebsten Empfehlungen für die Metropole verschaffen. Nächste Woche folgt noch ein zweiter Teil (mit Übersichtskarte, wie in all meinen Städte Guides), den ich euch dann selbstverständlich unten verlinken werde.

 

Eins vorweg: Sydney hat mich einfach nur umgehauen! Ich hätte dieser Metropole niemals zugetraut, dass sie mir so gut gefallen würde. Von ursprünglich geplanten fünf Tagen habe ich hier deshalb schon nach kurzer Zeit auf acht Tage verlängert. Zu schön waren die Strände, zu spannend die unterschiedlichen Stadtteile und zu gut der Kaffee in den vielen Cafés, die ich entdeckt habe.

 

Sydney Guide Surry Hills Reuben hills

 

Das erste Café, das ich euch empfehlen möchte, befindet sich auf der Grenze zwischen den hippen Stadtteilen Darlinghurst und Surry Hills. Im Reuben Hills gibt es guten Kaffee und köstliches Essen. Das Ganze in rustikalem Atmosphäre dank unverputzter Ziegel, viel Beton und Holzmöbeln. Während man im ersten Stock sitzt und seinen Kaffee genießt, wird dieser im zweiten Geschoss geröstet – dort befindet sich nämlich die zugehörige Kaffeerösterei. Gefallen hat mir hier ebenfalls die Kunstinstallation aus Neonröhren und der offene Flair der Räumlichkeiten, der durch das geöffnete Tor (siehe Bild unten) und einige Aussparung in der Zwischendecke entsteht.

 

Reuben Hills Surry Hill Sydney Café Specialty Coffee Place Hipster

Reuben Hills

61 Albion St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

Flowers-Sydney-Summer-Australie-Travelblog-Guide

 

Bourke-Street-Bakery-Sydney-Hipster-Guide

 

Wer gute Backwaren schätzt, sollte in Sydney die Bourke Street Bakery auf keinen Fall verpassen – sie hat angeblich die besten Brötchen und Kuchen der ganzen Stadt. Zu der Bäckerei gehören mittlerweile mehr als zehn Läden, aber besonders begehrt ist immer noch der Erste – in der namensgebenden Bourke Street. Eine super Anlaufstelle zum Frühstücken!

 

Bourke-Street-Bakery-Sydney-Surry-Hills-Bourke-Street

 

Bourke Street Bakery

633 Bourke St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

Sydney Guide

 

Neighbourhood by Sean McManus Surry Hills Sydney

 

Speziell etwas für Kaffeefans ist Neighbourhood by Sean McManus. Trotz ein paar Sitzplätze ist die Bezeichnung „Café“ hier vielleicht etwas hochgegriffen, aber ein sehr begehrter Ort ist das sich etwas lochartig in einer Wand befindende Neighbourhood trotzdem. Neben dem Kaffee machen hier meiner Meinung nach vor allem die Menschen die besondere Atmosphäre aus. Besitzer Sean McManus kennt gefühlt jeden aus der Nachbarschaft – Büromenschen, Kreative… Da die Umgebung größtenteils aus Büros besteht, ist das Neighbourhood selbst übrigens auch nur von Montags bis Freitags offen. Aufgefallen ist mir während meiner Zeit in Sydney, dass viele der Cafébesitzer die ich kennengelernt habe, früher Barista bei Single O waren – dem Café das ich euch bereits vor einiger Zeit vorgestellt habe (siehe hier) – so auch Sean McManus.

 

Neighbourhood-by-Sean-McManus-Specialty-Coffee-Barista-Surry-Hills-Sydney

 

Neighbourhood by Sean McManus

16 Buckingham St
Surry Hills NSW 2010

 

Während ich bei Neighbourhood noch ein paar Croissants entdeckt habe, ist der Kaffeefokus bei meinem letzten Cafétipp für heute noch eine Nummer extremer: Nur Kaffee, sonst nichts. Der ist dafür aber besonders gut und die beiden Gründer des Artificer (zu Deutsch „Schöpfer“) stehen mit sehr viel Überzeugung und Talent hinter ihrem Konzept. Auch die Einrichtung des, in einer ruhigen Gegend gelegenen, Cafés ist minimalistisch gehalten – getreu dem Motto hochklassiger Kaffee ohne Ablenkung.

 

Artificer Specilty Coffee Thirdwave Coffee Surry Hills Guide

 

Aufgepasst Liebhaber von schönen Papierprodukten und Grafikdesign, genau für euch ist mein vorletzter Tipp: Bei Beautiful Pages an der Oxford Street habe ich gefühlt Stunden verbracht, um durch etliche schöne Reiseführer, Bücher und Independentmagazine zu blättern. Auch Posters und DVD’s gibt es hier. Die Oxford Street entlang zu schlendern lohnt sich übrigens auch wegen vieler weiterer schöner Läden, die sich hier befinden.

 

Sydney Beuatiful Pages Magazine Store

Beautiful Pages

114 Oxford St
Darlinghurst NSW 2010

 

Sydney Hostel Harbour YHA - The Rocks Yoga

 

Zu Letzt möchte ich euch heute noch berichten, wo ich geschlafen habe, während ich in Sydney war: im Sydney Harbour YHA – The Rocks. Es ist nach dem gleichnamigen Hafenviertel benannt und kein typisches „Party-Backpacker-Hostel“, sondern eher familienfreundlich. Während meiner Zeit war es von einem sehr gemischten Publikum besucht, was ich sehr angenehm fand. Neben sauberen Zimmern und einer großen Küche gibt es dort eine Dachterrasse mit unglaublichem Blick auf die Harbour Bridge und das Opera Haus. Auch wenn dieser ab und zu von im Hafen anliegenden Kreuzfahrtschiffen etwas gestört wurde, war er immer wieder beeindruckend. Ich weiß noch genau, wie ich auf dieser Terrasse eines Morgens um sechs Uhr stand, um an der kostenlosen Yoga Stunde, die einmal die Woche angeboten wird, teilzunehmen. Das war definitiv der beste Sonnengruß (im wörtlichen Sinne), den ich bis jetzt gemacht habe!

 

Sydney Hostel Harbour YHA - The Rocks

 

Sydney Harbour YHA – The Rocks

110 Cumberland St
The Rocks NSW 2000

 

 

— Für Teil 2 des Sydney Guides einmal hier klicken