Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Place-Barista

 

From every city I visit, I bring back memories of one favorite spot. A place that has specially anchored itself in my heart. Most of the time, it is the one I have visited the most, and it always has something unique about it – a very special atmosphere. When I travel further or back to Hamburg, I know: If I will come back this would be the first spot where you see me again!

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Guide-Specialty-Coffee-Café

 

Today I would like to introduce you to the café which is my favorite place in Melbourne. It is called Plug Nickel and is located near the hip district Fitzroy – in Collingwood. The interior of the café consists of a small room with a few seating possibilities. Thanks to two large windows it is mostly flooded with light. Also in front of the café there are some places to sit. If you just want something to take away your orders are delivered practical directly through a window to the street.

Alone sitting and staying here a moment is worthwhile in my opinion. You can still observe the small details much better – like the small rainbow on the counter which appears when the light falls through the windows at a certain angle. You can also enjoy the top-notch coffee here. It is from the roastery Ona Coffee from Canberra. In the summer months, at plug-nickel particularly often cold coffee specialties are handed over the counter. In addition to the normal cold brew (cold-poured coffee) they serve carbonated cascara tea (a tea made from the coffee cherry) from inside the taps on the wall of the café and a sparkling version of the cold brew.

 

 Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-GUIDE-Cafe

 

Maybe the nice encounter I had at Plug Nickel is not entirely innocent of my enthusiasm for this café: When I photographed the counter during my first visit, someone knocked wildly at the window pane. It took me a moment to understand that I was meant. A young guy pointed to my T-shirt and asked “Do you work there?”. I wore a souvenir of my last Lisbon trip that day – a shirt from the Fabrica Coffee Roasters. Laughing, I explained to the kindly grinning man what it had to do with it. Gaston, so his name was, told me that he had just visited the Portuguese roastery last summer and so we started a conversation.

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Café

 

To my delight, the newly foreign guy was a creative equaly-minded: a Melbourne-based lettering artist with an enthusiasm for good coffee. Frequently, Gaston embellishes the chalkboards of the restaurants of his city, produces designs for beer bottles, or paints whole windowpanes and walls with lively letters. His favorite color (you can see quickly when you follow him on Instagram or visit his website) is yellow.

When I began to ask him for more coffee tips, he helped me willingly but quickly added that I had already landed in the best café. The Plug Nickel is his absolute favorite. “I love to enjoy my coffee here, when the light falls so beautifully through the trees,” I still hear him say today.

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-GUIDE-Cafe 2

 

Hours later I knew exactly what he meant. Meanwhile, the artist had drawn two “Fräulein Anker” -Letterings inside my notebook, we had a second coffee together and I took some pictures and videos (more about it quite soon) from the café.

 

gaston-castagnet-gastonthepainter-Plug-Nickel-Melbourne

 

On another visit to the Plug Nickel, I met Gaston again and left him with the promise to open my eyes for a few chalkboards or other projects. So that we meet each other once again in Europe for a coffee. But also I would like to see the beautiful café again. It would be at the top of my list, when I should travel to Melbourne again.

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Place

 

Plug Nickel

7 Peel St

Collingwood VIC 3066

 

Genussmenschen & Stadtentdecker aufgepasst:

Hallo Hamburg, Kopenhagen & Amsterdam – für leichtfüßiges Flanieren abseits der Touristenströme.
ZU DEN BÜCHERN
close-link

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Place-Barista

 

Aus jeder Stadt, die ich bereise, bringe ich Erinnerungen an einen Lieblingsort mit. Einen Ort, der sich ganz besonders in meinem Herz verankert hat. Meistens ist es der, den ich am häufigsten besucht habe und immer hat er etwas Einzigartiges an sich – eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Wenn ich dann weiter reise oder wieder in Hamburg bin, weiß ich: Würde ich zurückkommen, dann sieht man mich hier als Erstes wieder!

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Guide-Specialty-Coffee-Café

 

Das Café, das in Melbourne dieser Lieblingsort für mich ist, möchte ich euch heute vorstellen. Es heißt Plug Nickel und befindet sich Nahe dem Szenenviertel Fitzroy – im Stadtteil Collingwood. Der Innenbereich des Cafés besteht aus einem kleinen Raum mit ein paar wenigen Sitzmöglichkeiten. Dank zwei großer Fenster ist dieser meist lichtdurchflutet. Auch vor dem Café, gibt es einige Plätze. Wer nur etwas zum Mitnehmen habe möchte, bekommt seine Bestellungen direkt durch ein Fenster auf die Straße gereicht.

Sitzen zu bleiben und einen Moment zu verweilen lohnt sich meiner Meinung nach hier aber sehr. Dabei kann man nämlich noch viel besser die kleinen Details beobachten – wie den Regenbogen auf dem Tresen, der erscheint, wenn das Licht in einem bestimmten Winkel durch die Fenster fällt. Außerdem lässt sich so viel besser der erstklassige Kaffee genießen, den es hier gibt. Er stammt von der Rösterei Ona Coffee aus Canberra. Im Sommer gehen bei Plug Nickel besonders häufig auch kalte Kaffeespezialitäten über den Tresen. Neben dem kalt gestellten Cold brew (kalt aufgegossener Kaffee) kommt aus den Zapfhähnen an der Wand des Cafés kohlensäurehaltiger Cascara Tee (ein Tee gemacht aus der Kaffeekirsche) und auch eine sprudelnde Variante des Cold brews.

 

 Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-GUIDE-Cafe

 

Vielleicht ist auch die nette Begegnung, die ich im Plug Nickel hatte, nicht ganz unschuldig an meiner Begeisterung für dieses Café. Als ich nämlich bei meinem ersten Besuch gerade den Tresen des Ladens fotografierte, klopfte jemand wild an die Fensterscheibe. Es dauerte einen Moment, bis ich verstand, dass ich gemeint war. Ein junger Typ zeigte aufgeregt auf mein T-Shirt und fragte „Do you work there?“. Ich trug an dem Tag ein Souvenir von meiner letzten Lissabonreise: ein T-Shirt von den Fabrica Coffee Roasters. Lachend erklärte ich dem freundlich grinsenden Mann, was es damit auf sich hatte. Gaston, so war sein Name, erzählte, dass er auch gerade letzten Sommer die portugiesische Rösterei besucht hatte und so kamen wir ins Gespräch.

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Café

 

Zu meiner Freude war der eben noch fremde Typ ein kreativer Gleichgesinnter: ein in Melbourne lebender Lettering-Künstler mit einer Begeisterung für guten Kaffee. Freiberuflich verschönert Gaston die Kreidetafeln der Restaurants seiner Stadt, entwirft Designs für Bierflaschen oder bemalt ganze Fensterscheiben und Wände mit lebendigen Buchstaben. Seine Lieblingsfarbe – das merkt man schnell, wenn man ihm auf Instagram folgt oder seine Webseite besucht: Gelb.

Als ich anfing ihn nach weiteren Cafétipps zu fragen, half er mir zwar bereitwillig, aber ergänzte schnell, dass ich bereits im besten Café gelandet war. Das Plug Nickel sei sein absoluter Favorit. „Ich liebe es hier draußen meinen Kaffee zu genießen, wenn das Licht so schön durch die Bäume fällt“, höre ich ihn heute noch sagen.

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-GUIDE-Cafe 2

 

Stunden später wusste ich genau, was er meinte. Mittlerweile hatte mir der Künstler zwei „Fräulein Anker“-Letterings in mein Notizbuch gezeichnet, wir einen zweiten Kaffee zusammen getrunken und ich einige Bilder und Videos (mehr dazu ganz bald) vom Café gemacht.

 

gaston-castagnet-gastonthepainter-Plug-Nickel-Melbourne

 

Bei einem weiteren Besuch im Plug Nickel traf ich Gaston zufällig wieder und verabschiedete mich, mit dem Versprechen die Augen aufzuhalten – nach ein paar Kreidetafeln oder anderen Aufträgen. Damit wir uns irgendwann mal wieder in Europa auf einen Kaffee treffen. Aber auch das schöne Café möchte ich gerne wieder sehen. Es steht ganz oben auf meiner Liste, wenn ich mal wieder nach Melbourne reisen sollte.

 

Plug-Nickel-Melbourne-Specialty-Coffee-Place

 

Plug Nickel

7 Peel St

Collingwood VIC 3066