The travel guides on my blog continue and this one takes us to Madrid! Even though the titel „Coffee Guide“ perfectly describes this blog entry, it could also be called „24 hours in Madrid“ as that is exactly the amount of time we spent in the Spanish capital, the last stop on our roadtrip. Madrid, I have to acknowledge, blew me away. Maybe it is true what people say: if you don’t have any expectations you can only be surprised positively. That is how it was in my case at least when I explored Madrid this summer.




A perfect spot to ideally start the day in Madrid is the Pum Pum Café which is in the slightly alternative artists’ district Lavapiés. The café has a large selection of breakfast and lunch dishes such as avocado toast, sandwiches, salads, or granola. Even several vegan options are on the menu and don’t get me started on the vast choice of cake – thinking about it makes me hungry!






Pum Pum Café

Calle Tribulete 6
28012 Madrid





For a coffee after breakfast (and after a small walk to the trendy neighbourhood Malasaña) I can recommend the Bianchi Kiosko Caffé. The owner, Sandro Bianchi, has two passions: coffee and music. In Madrid he is also know as a DJ, in fact. The name „Kiosko“ stands for – you might already have guessed – kiosk and refers to the limited space in Sandro’s café. There are only a handful of seats but for a coffee to go or for a small break on the bench in front of the café I would definitely come back anytime!






Bianchi Kiosko Caffé

Calle de San Joaquín 9
28004 Madrid




Several concept stores are to the east of the Bianchi Kiosko Caffé, on the Calle Fernando VI. I especially liked the store Do Design – a very inspiring place with a mix of fashion, paper items, art, and home accessories.

Do Design

Calle Fernando VI 13
28004 Madrid




For shopping Do Design was not the only store we visited while being in Madrid. In Malasaña you can find a countless number of vintage shops – packed with fashion from past decades. Since we walked through this neighbourhood in the early afternoon we were very disappointed at first. The street where all the vintage shops were supposed to be (Calle Velarde) was deserted and quiet. Not until stepping outiside the only shop that seemed to be open did we realize that the shops had been closed due to „siesta“. One after the other shops reopened their doors and our disappointment quickly blew over.




A favourite among coffee fans seems to be the Toma Café only a few streets further. I am writing „seems to be“ since when we stopped by (after the vintage shopping tour) the café was so full that we decided to move on and keep it in mind for our next trip to Madrid. I can say as much that the coffee looked very good…




Toma Café

Calle de la Palma 49
28004 Madrid





Far more relaxed was the atmosphere in the HanSo Café. A chinese family opened this café last year and gave it its own particular charm – that definitely stands out. It is rather difficult to describe, but try to picture it as a mix of minimalist, yet intricately detailed interior paired with a nice welcoming atmosphere. At the counter the baristas create beautiful latte art and the many choices on the menu invite you for lunch or for coffee and cake. At HanSo Café the balance between coolness and friendliness is in perfect harmony – and that is exactly what I thought while I was sitting on my place on the window sill.










HanSo Café

Calle del Pez 20
28004 Madrid




Similar to the Bianchi Kiosko Caffé, the proprietor of my last recommendation has two passions as well. The first, who would have guessed, is coffee and the second, sneakers. Guillermo decorated the peacefully located „Coffee & Kicks“ with limited edition sneakers, but the main focus is on the coffee. You cannot buy sneakers, but you can drink an excellent flat white.






Coffee & Kicks

Calle de las Navas de Tolosa 6
28013 Madrid




At the end of our day – and at the end of our entire roadtrip – we treated ourselves to a unique sunset. On the roof of the theatre „Bellas Artes“ there is a bar which offers a fantastic view over the whole city. The ride to the top is not for free, but the view was definitely worth it. And there is no better way to end such a trip than by enjoying the magnificent sunset with a glass of wine…


Madrid Metropolis Building "Tartan Roof”- Círculo de Bellas Artes


Tartan Roof – Círculo de Bellas Artes

Calle del Marqués de Casa Riera 2
28014 Madrid

pum-pum-cafe-vegan-madrid-guide-cofeeplace-breakfast-in-madrid

 

Die Reiseguides auf dem Blog gehen weiter und dieses Mal geht es nach Madrid! Auch wenn der Titel „Coffee Guide“ diesen Beitrag mehr als treffend beschreibt, könnte er auch „24 Stunden in Madrid“ heißen. Denn genau so viel Zeit hatten wir am letzten Tag unseres Roadtrips in dieser Stadt. Madrid, das muss ich der spanischen Hauptstadt ganz groß anerkennen, hat mich übrigens umgehauen! Es stimmt vielleicht, wenn die Leute sagen, dass man wenn man frei von Erwartungen auf etwas zugehen sollte, weil man sich dann nur positiv überrascht werden kann. So war es zumindest bei mir diesen Sommer, als ich die Stadt erkundete.

 

pum-pum-cafe-vegan-madrid-guide-cofeeplace-breakfast-in-madrid-avocadotoast

 

Starten lässt sich so ein Tag in Madrid idealerweise im Pum Pum Café, das sich im alternativen Künstlerviertel Lavapiés befindet. Das Café hat eine große Auswahl an Frühstücks- und Lunchgerichten, wie Avocadotoasts, Sandwiches, Salate oder Granola. Auch einiges Veganes steht auf der Karte und von der Kuchenauswahl möchte ich gar nicht anfangen – so einen Hunger bekomme ich gerade!

 

pum-pum-cafe-vegan-madrid-guide-breakfast-in-madrid-menu

 

pum-pum-cafe-vegan-madrid-guide-breakfast-in-madrid-avocadotoast

 

Pum Pum Café

Calle Tribulete 6
28012 Madrid

 

 

Madrid-Coffee-Guide-Travelblog-Cafètipp-Bianchi-kiosko-caffè-third-wave-coffee

 

Für euren Kaffee nach dem Frühstück (und nach einem kleinen Spaziergang Richtung Szenenviertel Malasaña) kann ich euch das Bianchi Kiosko Caffé empfehlen. Der Besitzer, Sandro Bianchi, hat zwei Leidenschaften: den Kaffee und die Musik. Als DJ ist er in Madrid nämlich ebenfalls bekannt. Die Bezeichnung „Kiosko“ steht – ihr habt es wahrscheinlich schon geahnt – für Kiosk und erklärt die Raumsituation bei diesem Cafétipp: Sitzplätze gibt es nur wenige. Aber für einen coffee to go oder eine kleine Pause auf der Bank vor dem Laden, würde ich hier sofort wieder vorbeischauen.

 

madrid-coffee-guide-travelblog-cafetipp-bianchi-kiosko-caffe-third-wave-coffee-tattoo-barista-coffeeandtattoos

 

madrid-coffee-guide-travelblog-cafetipp-bianchi-kiosko-caffe-specialty-coffee

 

Bianchi Kiosko Caffé

Calle de San Joaquín 9
28004 Madrid

 

do-design-madrid-guide-concept-store

 

Einige Concept Stores befinden sich östlich des Bianchi Kiosko Caffés, auf der Calle Fernando VI. Besonders gut hat mir hier der Laden Do Design gefallen – ein sehr inspirierender Ort mit einer Mischung aus Mode, Papeterieprodukten, Kunst und Wohnaccessoires.

Do Design

Calle Fernando VI 13
28004 Madrid

 

madrid-travelguide-reiseblog

 

In Sachen shoppen war Do Design übrigens nicht der einzige Laden, den wir während unserer Zeit in Madrid besuchten. Im Stadtteil Malasaña gibt es unglaublich viele Vintageshops – voller Mode aus vergangenen Jahrzehnten. Da wir um die Mittagszeit hier unterwegs waren, herrschte bei uns zuerst Enttäuschung. Die Straße mit den angeblich so vielen Secondhand Läden (Calle Velarde) war wie ausgestorben. Erst als wir nach ein wenig Stöbern aus dem vermeintlich einzigen offenen Laden heraus traten, merkten wir, dass wir in der Siesta unterwegs waren. Nach und nach öffneten die anderen Shops gerade wieder ihre Türen und bei uns verflog die Enttäuschung in kürzester Zeit.

 

madrid-travelguide

 

Ein heißer Tipp für alle Kaffeefans scheint das Toma Café einige Straßen weiter zu sein. Ich schreibe deswegen „scheint“, weil es bei unserem Stopp hier (nach der Vintageshopping-Tour) so voll war, dass wir weitergezogen sind. Man kann sich ja noch etwas für seine nächste Reise aufheben, aber gut sah der Kaffee aus…

 

toma-cafe-madrid-coffeeplace-travelblog-madrid-guide

 

Toma Café

Calle de la Palma 49
28004 Madrid

 

 

madrid-coffee-guide-hanso-travelblog

 

Weit entspannter ging es dahingegen im HanSo Café zu. Dieses Café wurde letztes Jahr von einer chinesischen Familie eröffnet und hat seinen ganz besonderen Charme – der definitiv raussticht. Er ist schwer zu beschreiben, aber eine Mischung aus minimalistischer, aber trotzdem detailreicher Einrichtung gepaart mit einer netten Willkommensatmosphäre trifft es vielleicht ganz gut. Am Tresen kreieren die Baristas wundervolle Latte Art und ein großes Menü hält zum Lunchen oder auch für Kaffee & Kuchen einiges bereit. Der Balanceakt zwischen Coolness und Freundlichkeit ist hier wirklich perfekt geglückt – ja, genau das war es, was ich von meinem schönen Fensterplatz aus dachte.

 

hanso-madrid-coffee-guide-travelblogger-cafetipp

 

madrid-coffee-guide-hanso-travelblog-matcha-latte

 

hanso-madrid-coffee-guide-travelblogger-cafetipp-avocadao-brot

 

hanso-madrid-coffee-guide-travelblogger-cafetipp-coffeeplaces

 

HanSo Café

Calle del Pez 20
28004 Madrid

 

coffee-and-kicks-madrid-hipster-and-coffee-guide-cafetipp

 

Ähnlich wie beim zweiten Cafétipp (dem Bianchi Kiosko Caffé), hat auch der Besitzer meiner letzten Caféempfehlung zwei Leidenschaften. Die Erste, wer hätte es gedacht, ist Kaffee und die Zweite: Sneakers. Dekoriert hat Guillermo das ruhig gelegene „Coffee & Kicks“ zwar mit limitierten Turnschuhen, aber im Mittelpunkt steht der Kaffee. Sneakers kaufen geht hier nicht, guten Flat White trinken aber schon!

 

coffee-and-kicks-madrid-hipster-and-coffee-guide-coffeeplace

 

coffee-and-kicks

 

Coffee & Kicks

Calle de las Navas de Tolosa 6
28013 Madrid

 

madrid-staedtetrip-reiseblog-tipps

 

Zum Abschluss unseres Tages – und auch des gesamten Roadtrips – haben wir uns einen besonderen Sonnenuntergang gegönnt. Auf dem Dach des Theaters „Bellas Artes“ befindet sich eine Bar mit einem großartigen Blick über die ganze Stadt. Die Fahrt hoch kostet zwar, aber für den Ausblick hat es sich meiner Meinung nach voll gelohnt. Und welche schönere Art gibt es, so eine Reise zu beenden, als mit einem Glas Wein in der Hand und dem rosaroten Horizont im Blickfeld…

 

Madrid Metropolis Building "Tartan Roof”- Círculo de Bellas Artes

 

Tartan Roof – Círculo de Bellas Artes

Calle del Marqués de Casa Riera 2
28014 Madrid