Playground-Specialty-Coffee-Hamburg-St.-Pauli

 

Monday morning, 10:30 am. Coffee smell is in the air in a small place with yellow tiles and a pink wall. A bit tired looking people enter the room and order a flat-white, a cappuccino or a filter coffee. Most of them for take away. Here at the Detlev Bremer Straße 21 in the district St. Pauli has opened a new spot for friends of quality beans since the beginning of March: Playground Coffee. A café recommendation, which I would like to introduce to you more precisely.

 

Playground Coffee Veljko St. Pauli Specialty Coffee

 

Veljko Tatalović, the guy from the upper right picture, made himself self-employed a few years ago with Playground Coffee. Before he began to take the filter holder regularly, there was a camera. He used to work as a photographer for various publishers and agencies.

His passion for photography had somehow been lost by the industry. Veljko wanted to build up a second mainstay, when he discovered coffee. The first excursion to this area followed as barista and roaster at the Hamburg roastery Elbgold. In 2014 he finally becomes independent with Playground Coffee. In addition to a small corner of the shop-in-shop café in a burger restaurant in the district Grindelviertel (at Otto’s Burger), from the outset he also roasted coffee on his own.

Playground-Coffee-Poster-Cafétipp-Hamburg-Specialty-Coffee

 

The coffees of the roastery have creative names as Skywalker, Dirty Berry or King Kongo and their beans come from independent plantations from countries like Brazil, the Congo or Zimbabwe. Already due to the fancy design the filter coffees and espresso blends in their cardboard boxes attract attention. Those playful worlds are from graphic designer Andreas Teichmann, a friend of Veljko.


But also because of the taste I can recommend you the Playground Coffee. The Kenya West through the hand filter is party of my coffee ceremony at home often. It is a filter roasting with the flavour nuances sweet plum, dark berry and caramel. I also like Playground Love – a sweet Espressoblend, which taste like nougat and cherry. Soon, the roastery goes to Wilhelmsburg in a former waterworks.

Playground St Pauli Hamburg Caféempfehlung

 

There have been a lot of other things happened at Playground since opening. At the beginning of 2016 the team, which now consists of seven persons, has opened a second shop in the Rathauspassage. A coffee kiosk is located there, which now provides for good coffee in the middle of Hamburgs city center. And this year was followed by a real own store – the one at St. Pauli. Veljko himself calls him “the new Playground headquarter“. In addition to the great coffee enjoyment, there is also a small selection of cakes.

Veljko-Tatalović-Playground-Coffee-Specialty-Coffee-Hamburg

 

The fact that the Roastery is so successful is also due to the people who support Veljko on his playground. His friends Marc and Matze were there from the start. Others, such as Sebastian Benzin, who described himself as a digital content producer, followed soon after the founding. Sebastian has also launched the latest project from Playground: it’s own bicycle club, which regularly organizes bike tours. Before and after the tours, which often consist of 30 to 40 people and go to Hamburgs surrounding area on a Sunday, the Playground Cycle Club drinks coffee in the new café. Things to do differently than many other coffee roasters and cafés, is the clear motto.

Tampen-Playground-Coffee

 

Veljko himself drinks by the way most preferably Filter coffee or Flat White. For the latter stands in the café on St. Pauli a chic Victoria Arduino, VA358 White Eagle, espresso machine. The interior around is colorful and complemented by many plants, but the small space does not feel like overcharge.

Before I said goodbye at the Monday morning I ask – because of personal curiosity – whether Veljko still photographed from time to time. “Scarcely,” he replied, “but I’ve been really enjoying it again since a short time.” The fact that he knows to combine the visual and good coffee taste on his playground is definitely obvious.

 

Pflanze-makramee-st.-pauli-Playground-Coffee-urbanjungle

 

Playground-Coffee-St.-Pauli-Hamburg

 

Playground-Coffee-victoria-arduino Maschine-VA358 White Eagle

 

GIF-Playground-Coffee-St.-Pauli-2

 

Playground-St-Pauli-Barista-Café-Hamburg

 

Playground-Flat-White

 

Playground-Coffee-Logo

 

Playground Coffee

Detlev-Bremer-Straße 21

20359 Hamburg

Playground-Specialty-Coffee-Hamburg-St.-Pauli

 

Montagmorgen, 10.30 Uhr. Kaffeeduft liegt in der Luft in einem kleinen Laden mit gelben Fliesen und einer rosa Wand. Einzeln betreten etwas müde dreinblickende Menschen den Raum und bestellen einen Flat White, einen Cappuccino oder einen Filterkaffee. Die meisten von ihnen zum Mitnehmen. Hier in der Detlev-Bremer-Straße 21 auf St. Pauli gibt es seit Anfang März für Freunde edler Bohnen eine neue Anlaufstelle: Playground Coffee. Eine Café-Empfehlung, die ich euch genauer vorstellen möchte.

 

Playground Coffee Veljko St. Pauli Specialty Coffee

 

Veljko Tatalović, auf dem Bild oben rechts zu sehen, machte sich mit Playground Coffee bereits vor einigen Jahren selbstständig. Bevor er anfing den Siebträger regelmäßig in die Hand zu nehmen, war da aber noch eine Kamera. Als Fotograf arbeitete er früher für verschiedene Verlage und Agenturen.

Die Leidenschaft für Fotografie war irgendwann durch die Branche etwas verloren gegangen. Als Veljko sich deshalb ein zweites Standbein aufbauen wollte, entdeckte er den Kaffee. Der erste Ausflug in diesen Bereich folgte als Barista und Röster bei der Hamburger Rösterei Elbgold. 2014 macht er sich mit Playground Coffee schließlich selbstständig. Neben einer kleinen Café-Ecke in einem Burgerladen im Grindelviertel (bei Otto’s Burger) gehörte dazu von Anfang an auch, dass er selber Kaffee röstete.

 

Playground-Coffee-Poster-Cafétipp-Hamburg-Specialty-Coffee

 

Die Kaffees seiner Rösterei tragen seit dem so kreative Namen wie Skywalker, Dirty Berry oder King Kongo und ihre Bohnen stammen von unabhängigen Plantagen aus Ländern wie Brasilien, dem Kongo oder Simbabwe. Bereits durch das ausgefallene Design fallen die Filterkaffees und Espressoblends in ihren Pappkartons auf. Der Graphikdesigner Andreas Teichmann, ein Freund von Veljko, hat die verspielten Welten entworfen.

Aber auch wegen des Geschmacks kann ich euch den Playground Kaffee sehr empfehlen. Die Röstung Kenya West fließt bei mir Zuhause öfters durch den Handfilter. Bei ihr handelt es sich um eine Filterröstung mit den Geschmacksnuancen süße Pflaume, dunkle Beere und Karamell. Playground Love mag ich ebenfalls sehr – eine süße Espressoblend, die nach Nougat und Kirsche schmeckt. Bald zieht die Rösterei übrigens nach Wilhelmsburg in das ehemalige Wasserwerk.

 

Playground St Pauli Hamburg Caféempfehlung

 

Aber auch sonst hat sich bei Playground seit Eröffnung einiges getan. Anfang 2016 hat das Team, das mittlerweile aus sieben Personen besteht, nämlich eine zweite Anlaufstelle in der Rathauspassage eröffnet. Ein Kaffeekiosk befindet sich dort, der nun für guten Kaffee mitten in der Innenstadt sorgt. Und dieses Jahr folgte endlich auch ein richtiger eigener Laden – der auf St. Pauli. Veljko selbst nennt ihn „das neue Playground Hauptquartier“. Neben dem großen Kaffeegenuss gibt es hier übrigens auch eine kleine Auswahl an Kuchen.

 

Veljko-Tatalović-Playground-Coffee-Specialty-Coffee-Hamburg

 

Dass das Playground so gut läuft, liegt auch an den Menschen die Veljko auf seinem Spielplatz unterstützen. Seine Freunde Marc und Matze waren von Anfang an dabei. Andere, wie Sebastian Bentzin, der sich selbst als Digital Content Producer bezeichnet, folgten bald nach der Gründung. Sebastian hat auch das neuste Projekt von Playground mit vorangetrieben: einen eigenen Fahrrad Club, der regelmäßig Ausfahrten organisiert. Vor und hinter den Touren, die häufig aus 30 bis 40 Leuten bestehen und an einem Sonntag in das Hamburger Umland gehen, trinkt der Playground Cycle Club Kaffee im neuen Laden. Dinge anders zu machen, als viele andere Kaffeeröstereien und Cafés, ist das klare Motto.

 

Tampen-Playground-Coffee

 

Veljko selbst trinkt übrigens am liebsten Filter oder Flat White. Für Letzteres steht in dem Café auf St. Pauli eine schicke Victoria Arduino, VA358 White Eagle, Espressomaschine. Die Einrichtung um sie rum ist bunt und wird durch viele Pflanzen ergänzt, der kleine Raum wirkt dabei aber nicht überladen.

Zum Abschied an dem Montagmorgen frage ich aus persönlicher Neugier, ob Veljko trotzdem ab und zu noch fotografiert. „Kaum“ antwortet er, „aber seit nicht allzu langer Zeit habe ich tatsächlich wieder Spaß daran“. Dass er das Visuelle und guten Kaffeegeschmack auf seinem Playground immer wieder verbindet, ist auf jeden Fall offensichtlich.

 

Pflanze-makramee-st.-pauli-Playground-Coffee-urbanjungle

 

Playground-Coffee-St.-Pauli-Hamburg

 

Playground-Coffee-victoria-arduino Maschine-VA358 White Eagle

 

GIF-Playground-Coffee-St.-Pauli-2

 

Playground-St-Pauli-Barista-Café-Hamburg

 

Playground-Flat-White

 

Playground-Coffee-Logo

 

Playground Coffee

Detlev-Bremer-Straße 21

20359 Hamburg

 

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerkenMerkenMerken