Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Australia Hipster


Fresh back from the other half of the world, I want to give you today some tips for the last stop of my trip: the hippie and surfer paradies of Byron Bay. The place is known for its exceptional atmosphere and alternative charm. And yes, I too get fascinated by the certain magic here on the east coast of Australia. This is due to some beautiful sunsets along with listening to the drum circle (which plays every evening at the beach, when the ball ball on the horizon submerges), a trip to Cape Byron Lighthouse and two wonderful cafés – which I would like to introduce to you today.


Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast


The first one is Folk and located on the outskirts of Byron Bay. When I first saw this cafe, after an early sunrise walk, I was just baffled. The couple, behind the café, filled the space with a hippie dream and created a place with a really unique atmosphere.


Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Flat White


The porch of folk and the happenings around me were so inviting that I spent hours there and enjoyed an extensive breakfast. While I was sitting on the porch, I watched the people who entered the scene and felt like I was in a film. Two surfers with dreadlocks who were busy talking about the waves of the morning. A couple who were riding in a vintage car, on whose rear seat a large hairy poodle sat (the owners, as I lern a few days later). And a guy at the adjoining table, whose casual dress style I admired: white T-shirt with small print on the chest pocket to chic black jeans and … no shoes – a wonderful crowd!


Folk Byron Bay Barista La Marzocco


But let’s get back to the café itself: the folk cuisine is a place where only healthy food is served. On my plate taste met aesthetics in the form of a wonderfully styled sour dough bread with smashed avocado and feta and a poached egg. To that I ordered a Flat White – by the way, with coffee from Sydney from Single O. While my breakfast was served, I came with the guy into a conversation. He told me he had just spent a few months in Berlin last year. Because of the cold he had to come back to Australia. I can understand! I also talked to the Barista later. Oliver is his name and if he is not grinning behind the espresso machine, he travels and is a musician.


Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Smash Avocado


Byron Bay Cafe Folk Australia Hipster



1/399 Ewingsdale Rd
Byron Bay NSW 2481

Surfer Byron Bay Australia


Music also played a part during my visit to the second café. The Bay leaf is located right in the village, a few minutes walk from the beach. It is particularly well-known for its good specialty coffee, which comes from Marvell Street, a roastery from Byron Bay. The cafe is actually always very well attended, but the wait for a seat here is worthwhile.


Specialty Coffee Byron Bay Café Bay leaf Marvell Street coffee


At this place I had breakfast on my last day in Australia and during this time Angus and Julia Stone comes out of the speakers behind the counter. This band is from Australia and I love them very much, but it what he first time during my five-week trip I heard some music from them. Especially for the revelation in melancholy, the sibling couple is always perfect for me and so the song “Yellow Brick Road” fit just right to my farewell mood. My heart starts getting very sad in this moment, but on a good way…


Byron Bay Cafe Bayleaf Specialty Coffee


In order not to end up full melancholy this post, I want to give you a small tip for bay leaf: If you go to this cafe, try the self-creation of the house called Coconut Cold Brew. This signature drink is probably the best refreshment on hot days in the hippie village!


Byron Bay Cafe Signature Drink Coconut Cold Brew


Bay leaf cafe Byron Bay Specialty coffee Marvell Street Coffee


Bay Leaf

1 Marvell St
Byron Bay NSW 2481


Lighthouse Byron Bay Leuchtturm Australia

Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Australia Hipster

 

Frisch zurück von der anderen Hälfte der Welt, gibt es heute einen Beitrag über den letzten Stopp meiner Reise, dem Hippie- und Surferparadies Byron Bay. Der Ort ist bekannt für seine außergewöhnliche Atmosphäre und alternativen Charme. Und ja, auch ich war fasziniert von der gewissen Magie hier an der Ostküste Australiens. Schuld daran: Einige schönen Sonnenuntergängen samt Lauschen des Trommelkreises, der jeden Abend am Strand spielt, wenn der rote Ball am Horizont untertaucht. Ein Ausflug zum Cape Byron Leuchtrum. Und gleich zwei wunderschöne Cafés – die ich euch heute vorstellen möchte.

 

Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast

 

Das erste von beiden befindet sich etwas am Rande von Byron Bay und trägt den Namen Folk. Als ich dieses Café nach einem frühen Sonnenaufgangsspaziergang das erste Mal sah, war ich einfach nur baff – und mein großer Frühstückshunger vergessen. Das Pärchen, dass hinter dem Café steckt, hat sich mit dem Folk wirklich einen kleinen Hippietraum erfüllt und einen Ort mit einer einzigartigen Atmosphäre geschaffen.

 

Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Flat White

 

Die Veranda des Folks und das Geschehen um mich herum waren so einladend, dass ich dort Stunden verbrachte und dabei ein ausgiebiges Frühstück genoss. Während ich so auf der Veranda saß, beobachtete ich die Menschen, die die Szene betraten, und fühlte mich wie im Film: zwei Surfer mit Dreadlocks, die sich fleißig über die Wellen des Morgens unterhielten. Ein Pärchen, das in einem Oldtimer vorfuhren, auf dessen Rücksitzbar ein großer haariger Pudel saß (die Besitzer, wie ich einige Tage später zufällig erfuhr). Und zu guter Letzt ein Typ am Nachbarstisch, dessen lässigen Kleidungsstil ich bewunderte: weißes T-Shirt mit kleinem Print auf der Brusttasche zu schicker schwarzer Jeans und… keinen Schuhen – ein herrliches Publikum!

 

Folk Byron Bay Barista La Marzocco

 

Aber kommen wir zurück zum Café selbst: In der Küche vom Folk wird viel Wert auf gesundes Essen aus gutem Anbau gelegt. Auf meinen Teller traf dabei Geschmack auf Ästhetik in Form eines wunderbar angerichteten Sauerteigbrots mit Avocado, Feta und pochiertem Ei. Dazu habe ich einen Flat White bestellt – übrigens mit Kaffee aus Sydney von Single O. Während mein Frühstück serviert wurde, kam ich mit der Bedienung ins Gespräch. Der junge Typ erzählte mir, dass er gerade erst letztes Jahr ein paar Monate in Berlin gelebt hatte. Wegen der Kälte musste er aber schließlich zurück nach Australien kommen. Auch mit dem Barista habe ich mich später unterhalten. Wenn er nicht hinter dem Siebträger grinst, reist er und ist Musiker.

 

Byron Bay Cafe Folk Breakfast Smash Avocado

 

Byron Bay Cafe Folk Australia Hipster

 

Folk

1/399 Ewingsdale Rd
Byron Bay NSW 2481

 

Surfer Byron Bay Australia

 

Musik spielte auch während meines Besuchs in dem zweiten Café eine Rolle. Das Bay leaf befindet sich direkt im Ort, ein paar Gehminuten vom Strand entfernt. Besonders bekannt ist es für seinen guten Kaffee, der von Marvell Street kommt, einer Rösterei aus Byron Bay. Das Café ist eigentlich immer sehr gut besucht, aber das Warten auf einen Sitzplatz hier lohnt sich.

 

Specialty Coffee Byron Bay Café Bay leaf Marvell Street coffee

 

An diesem Ort habe ich an meinem letzten Tag in Australien gefrühstückt und währenddessen liefen Angus & Julia Stone aus den Boxen hinter der Theke. Eine Band aus Australien, die ich sehr liebe und die mir während meiner fünfwöchigen Reise erst hier begegnete. Gerade für das Schwelgen in Melancholie ist das Geschwisterpaar immer ein Volltreffer und so passte das Lied in dem Moment („Yellow Brick Road“) einfach genau zu meiner Abschiedsstimmung. Da wurde mein Herz ganz schwer…

 

Byron Bay Cafe Bayleaf Specialty Coffee

 

Um aber nicht voll Melancholie diesen Betrag zu beenden, noch eine kleine Empfehlung: Falls ihr ins Bay Leaf geht, probiert hier unbedingt die Eigenkreation des Hauses namens Coconut Cold Brew. Der Signature Drink ist wohl die beste Erfrischung an heißen Tagen in dem Hippieort.

 

Byron Bay Cafe Signature Drink Coconut Cold Brew

 

Bay leaf cafe Byron Bay Specialty coffee Marvell Street Coffee

 

Bay Leaf

1 Marvell St
Byron Bay NSW 2481

 

Lighthouse Byron Bay Leuchtturm Australia