Berlin Schlesisches Tor Kreuzberg Reiseblog

I’ve spent the last couple of days in Berlin – taking a break from my daily routine in order to do what I love most: taking pictures and discovering new places. I came back feeling inspired by the creative capital and have several new recommendations for you in tow. Three of them are located in the district Kreuzberg, which is where I am taking you today.

Fenster Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

Let’s start with Café Fenster in the Falckensteinstrasse. It was just opened here, in Wrangelkiez, last year by no other than the chief roaster from Bonanza (see my following recommendation). The name Café Fenster is characteristic in this case because of its big windows facing the street. During the summer this allows not only a bright light inside, but also – when opening the windows – a few possibilities for guests to sit outside. I especially want to recommend (next to the terrific coffee!) the sandwiches. They are available in different variations and prepared with lots of love from the Irish cook.

Fenster coffee Roasters Sandwiches Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

Fenster coffee Roasters La Marzocco Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

Fenster coffee Roasters Sandwiches Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

Fenster Third wave coffee place Berlin

Fenster Coffee Berlin

Falckensteinstraße 5
10997 Berlin

Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee

A lovely little walk away from Café Fenster through Kreuzberg, you’ll find my second recommendation: the Bonanza Roastery. It is one of the most significant institutions in Berlin when we talk about coffee. Since 2016 you can get a better insight to what’s happening behind the scene: From the light-flooded front area of the café you are able to observe the action of the roastery through a big glass wall. Add a Flat White with regional milk from Brandenburg and everything is perfect!

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Cafétipp

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Barista Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Third wave coffee

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Barista Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Third wave coffee Latte art

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin

Bonanza Coffee Roasters

Adalbertstraße 70
10999 Berlin

Berlin Kreuzberg Architektur Altbauliebe

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee

Last but not least I went to Café Nano. A few weeks ago a good friend of mine told me about it and gushed about the beautiful interior design. Enough reason for me to celebrate the end of my coffee tour there! In this minimalistically furnished coffee place, you’re not only able to drink excellent coffee (and enjoy self made delicacies) but also to get advice about different equipment for making your own good coffee at home. Moreover, next to many utensils, you can buy coffee from different roasting plants. To my own joy, with Playground coffee, a Hamburg roastery is represented too.

Kreuzberg Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße Kaffee Equipment La Marzocco

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße Kaffee Equipment

Berlin Kreuzberg Nano Kaffee Coffee Place Equipment Third wave coffee

Nano Kaffee Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee

Nano Kaffee Berlin

Dresdener Str. 14
10999 Berlin

 

Berlin Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog

Exploring Kreuzberg not only brought me lots of energy, but also pleasant conversations and new discoveries. A second blog post about my short Berlin trip will follow. In it, I will share some recommendations for Mitte, yet another district.

kreuzberg-oberbaumbruecke-explore-berlin-travelblog-schlesisches-tor

Again, I wasn’t able to go to several of the places on my Berlin-list. So I can already tell you now that another trip to Berlin is on my schedule for next year! Until then, you’re able to find all of my tips on the Berlin map here on the blog.

Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog Urban

Berlin Schlesisches Tor Kreuzberg Reiseblog

 

Die vergangenen Tage war ich in Berlin, um eine kleine Pause vom Alltag einzulegen und genau das zu machen, was ich am liebsten tue: Fotografieren und neue Orte erkunden. Inspiriert von der kreativen Hauptstadt bin ich nun zurück und habe natürlich einige Cafétipps für euch mitgebracht. Gleich drei von ihnen sind im Stadtteil Kreuzberg zu finden. Dort hin nehme ich euch heute also mit.

 

Fenster Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

 

Das Café Fenster in der Falckensteinstraße macht den Anfang. Gerade letztes Jahr erst wurde es hier im Wrangelkiez von dem ehemaligen Chef Röster der Rösterei Bonanza (siehe nächste Empfehlung) eröffnet. Der Name des Cafés ist dabei Programm, denn einer der großen Vorzüge dieses Ortes für Kaffeefreunde ist sein großes Fenster zur Straße hinaus. Im Sommer verschafft es dem Laden nicht nur besonders viel Licht, sondern räumt – weit geöffnet – auch den Gästen einige schöne Sitzmöglichkeiten im Freien ein. Besonders empfehlen möchte ich euch (neben dem grandiosen Kaffee) die Sandwiches, die es hier in verschiedenen Variationen gibt und die mit viel Liebe vom irländischen Koch zubereitet werden.

Achtung: Das Café Fenster ist im Sommer 2017 in die Mulackstrasse 32 in den Stadtteil Berlin Mitte umgezogen.

 

Fenster coffee Roasters Sandwiches Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

 

Fenster coffee Roasters La Marzocco Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

 

Fenster coffee Roasters Sandwiches Third wave coffee place Berlin Specialty coffee

 

Fenster Third wave coffee place Berlin

Fenster Coffee Berlin

Mulackstrasse 32
10119 Berlin

 

Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog

 

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee

 

Vom Café Fenster aus kann man wunderbar einen kleinen Spaziergang durch Kreuzberg zu meiner zweiten Empfehlung unternehmen: der Bonanza Rösterei. Die Rösterei ist eine der prägenden Institutionen in Berlin, wenn es um das Thema Kaffee geht. Seit 2016 kann man in einem Kreuzberger Hinterhof nun tiefere Einblicke in die Geschehnisse von Bonanza bekommen. Denn im vorderen Teil des Röstgebäudes befindet sich ein lichtdurchfluteter Cafébereich, von dem aus sich wunderbar durch eine Glaswand das Geschehen der Kaffeerösterei beobachten lässt. Dazu einen leckeren Flat White mit regionaler Milch aus Brandenburg und der Kaffeegenuss ist perfekt!

 

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Cafétipp

 

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Barista Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Third wave coffee

 

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Barista Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin Third wave coffee Latte art

 

Bonanza Roastery Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee Explore Berlin

Bonanza Coffee Roasters

Adalbertstraße 70
10999 Berlin

 

Berlin Kreuzberg Architektur Altbauliebe

 

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee

 

Als Letztes war ich während meiner Zeit in Berlin im Nano Kaffee. Eine gute Freundin hatte mir bereits vor einigen Wochen von dem schönen Design in diesem Laden vorgeschwärmt und so konnte ich es mir natürlich nicht nehmen lassen das Finale meiner Café-Erkundungstour durch Kreuzberg hier zu zelebrieren. In dem minimalistisch eingerichteten Laden kann man übrigens nicht nur hervorragend seinen Kaffee (und die selbst gebackenen Köstlichkeiten) genießen, sondern sich auch im Hinblick auf das eigenen Kaffee Equipment beraten lassen. Im Regal stehen neben vielem Utensilien auch der Kaffee verschiedener Röstereien. Mit Playground Coffee ist unter ihnen zu meiner Freude auch eine Hamburger Rösterei vertreten.

 

Kreuzberg Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße

 

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße Kaffee Equipment La Marzocco

 

Nano Kaffee Berlin Cafétipp Third wave coffee Dresdener Straße Kaffee Equipment

 

Berlin Kreuzberg Nano Kaffee Coffee Place Equipment Third wave coffee

 

Nano Kaffee Berlin Kreuzberg Specialty coffee

Nano Kaffee Berlin

Dresdener Str. 14
10999 Berlin

 

Berlin Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog

 

Wirklich eine energiebringende Erkundungstour war das in Kreuzberg für mich – und das nicht nur wegen dem vielen Kaffee, sondern auch auf Grund einiger wohltuender Gespräche und Entdeckungen. Ein zweiter Beitrag zu meinem kleinen Berlintrip folgt demnächst. In dem werde ich euch dann noch von ein paar Empfehlung für den Stadtteil Mitte berichten.

 

kreuzberg-oberbaumbruecke-explore-berlin-travelblog-schlesisches-tor

 

Einige Orte auf meiner Berlin-Liste habe ich aber auch dieses Mal nicht geschafft. Eine weitere Reise in die Hauptstadt steht also schon für nächstes Jahr auf meinem Plan. Alle Tipps von heute findet ihr bis dahin übrigens auch auf der großen Übersichtskarte des Berlin Guides hier auf dem Blog.

 

Kreuzberg Oberbaumbrücke Explore Berlin Travelblog Urban