Amsterdam-Resteraunt-Recommendation-Vegan-food-spots

 

“Knowing a city like your vest pocket”, that is an old name for a wonderful condition: to find the right way without problems. Have an orientation in a familiar environment. Yes somehow also a luxury feeling, which gently carries the soul, while strolling through the streets of a big city. Often, however, this feeling is restricted to one city only. Hamburg, my city, I know undoubtedly so well. And thanks to a wonderful friendship with a Amsterdamer, I have the same feeling in the Dutch capital during every visit.

This summer I again spent a few days in the northern city with the thousand canals, and of course, I felt so comfortable. Not with a thousand but with a lot of articles Amsterdam is already widely represented on the blog. Here follows another one with the topic of going out for a meal: one recommendation more chic, the other more casual, but both food spots simply delicious!

 

Sir-Hummus-Falafel

 

From the first culinary discovery I can not report you without telling a little history: More than a year ago, I discovered with my Amsterdam friend a small shop named Sir Hummus in the trendy neighborhood De Pijp. The founders behind Sir Hummus, the name suggests, have completely devoted themselves to the perfect hummus. Since 2013 they creat the oriental specialty of chickpeas, tahini, fresh lemons and a few other ingredients. And this – to the great pleasure of the author of this blog – in such a special way, that it simply tastes incomparably good! A visit to Sir Hummus is for me therefore for every trip to Amsterdam firmly.

 

Amsterdam Sir Hummus Kitchen Falafel Food spot

 

The team behind Sir Hummus started by the way with a simple market stand. At the end of 2014 the first own store in De Pijp followed. And right there, during my last visit, I spotted a little note with the latest news from the Sir Hummus Cosmos: There is now a second store! A clandestine expansion? Yes but not totally right.

A new specialty has been discovered therefor from the owners – one thats fits perfectly to hummus: Falafel! For this the kitchen, which was outsourced already some time ago, has been converted to a food place. On the menu of the new spot named Sir Hummus – Kitchen is only one creation: delicious falafel in a pita, for take away or for eat on site.

 

SIr-Hummus-Kitchen-Amsterdam-Falafel

 

“And why exactly just a quiet opening of the Sir Hummus – Kitchen?” I ask one of the founders while I ate my first falafel here (of course, I had to follow the little note). Because they took two years to hone their hummus till they where totally satisfied. Currently they just want to make the Falafel creation finally perfect, he answered. My Falafel here already tasted great, so I am curious about the next. For later trips to Amsterdam, there is only one question for me: Is this the beginning of a second tradition?

 

Amsterdam Sir HUmmus Ktichen Food spot Travelblog Guide2

 

Sir Hummus – Kitchen

Ruysdaelkade 181

1072 AT Amsterdam

 

 

Amsterdam-Travel-and-Foodguide-Travelblog-Fräulein-Anker

 

In contrast to the first recommendation the following one and its surroundings were totally new to me. Even though it is just a few meters from Amsterdam’s main railway station! At the Dijsgracht, near a large climbing hall, is the Mediamatic Biotoop situated: a ground where art and design meet with Life-Sciences – and the whole is combined with good food.

 

Eat dring Art vegan Resteraunt Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam

 

The Mediamatic ETEN restaurant with its waterside teerace is thus only one part of the exciting projects that have their place at the waterfront in the Mediamatic Biotoop: several greenhouses and cultivation areas are located around it, as well as a co-working space and an urban agriculture system in which a water cycle with fishes and plants is used to sustainably produce food. It is also creative by many art installations on the premises.

 

Amsterdam-Dijsgracht-Vegan-Resteraunt-Mediamatic-FOOD-Eten

 

In the restaurant local, sustainable, organic ingredients are used in addition to locally grown food. From Sunday to Tuesday you can order pizza from the wood-fired clay oven. From Wednesday to Saturday there is a menu, which can also be ordered completely vegan. And what could you enjoy next to to the delicious food and the beautiful water side view at a sunny day? Maybe an Amsterdamer Craft Beer, which the restaurant also offers.

 

Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam Ij

 

If this is not a nice perspective for the next Amsterdam trip? You can find the complete collection of all Amsterdam tips by the way here.

 

Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam

 

Mediamatic ETEN

Dijkspark 6a

1019 BS Amsterdam


 

Im Dezember schenkt der Ankerwechsel Verlag
dir die Versandkosten!

Gutscheincode: FREUDE
ZUM ONLINE SHOP
close-link

Amsterdam-Resteraunt-Recommendation-Vegan-food-spots

 

„Eine Stadt wie seine Westentasche kennen“, das ist eine alte Bezeichnung für einen wundervollen Zustand: Sich zurecht finden ohne Probleme. Eine Orientierung haben in einer vertrauten Umgebung. Ja irgendwie auch ein Luxusgefühl, das sanft die Seele trägt, während man durch die Straßen einer Großstadt schlendert. Häufig beschränkt genau dieses Gefühl sich jedoch nur auf eine Stadt – auf die Eigene. Hamburg, meine Stadt, kenne ich zweifellos so gut. Dank einer wunderbaren Freundschaft zu einer Amsterdamerin habe ich aber auch in der niederländischen Hauptstadt bei jedem Besuch genau diese schöne Empfindung.

Diesen Sommer habe ich also wieder ein paar Tage in der nördlichen Stadt mit den tausend Grachten verbracht und mich, ihr ahnt es schon, unglaublich Wohlgefühlt. Nicht mit Tausend aber zumindest mit zehn Beiträgen ist Amsterdam auch auf dem Blog bereits breit vertreten. Heute folgt schließlich Nr. 11 und das mit gleich zwei Amsterdam-Tipps rund um das Thema Essengehen: einmal eher schick, einmal eher lässig, aber beide Male einfach köstlich!

 

Sir-Hummus-Falafel

 

Von der ersten kulinarischen Neuentdeckung kann ich euch nicht berichten, ohne eine kleine Vorgeschichte zu erzählen: Vor mehr als einem Jahr habe ich mit meiner Freundin aus Amsterdam im Szeneviertel De Pijp einen kleinen Laden namens Sir Hummus entdeckt. Die Gründer hinter Sir Hummus haben sich, der Name lässt es schon erahnen, voll und ganz dem perfekten Hummus verschrieben. Seit 2013 kreieren sie die orientalische Spezialität aus Kichererbsen, Sesampaste, frischen Zitronen und ein paar weiteren Zutaten. Und das – zur großen Freude der Autorin dieses Blogs – auf so besondere Art und Weise, das es einfach unvergleichbar gut schmeckt! Ein Besuch bei Sir Hummus gehört für mich deshalb zu jeder Amsterdam-Reise fest dazu.

 

Amsterdam Sir Hummus Kitchen Falafel Food spot

 

Angefangen hat das Team hinter Sir Hummus übrigens mit einem einfachen Marktstand. Ende 2014 folgte dann der erste eigene Laden in De Pijp. Und genau dort hat mich bei meinem letzten Besuch ein kleiner Zettel auf die neuste Neuigkeit aus der Sir Hummus Kosmos hingewiesen: Es gibt ab sofort einen zweiter Laden! Eine klammheimliche Erweiterung? Ja so in der Art, aber doch nicht ganz richtig!

Eine neue Spezialität hat man nämlich für sich entdeckt – natürlich eine bei der Hummus nicht fehlen darf: Falafeln! Dafür wurde die Küche, die wohl schon vor einiger Zeit ausgelagert wurde, zu einem Deli umgebaut. Auf der Karte steht nur eine Kreation: leckere Falafel im Pitabrot zum Mitnehmen oder vor Ort Essen.

 

SIr-Hummus-Kitchen-Amsterdam-Falafel

 

„Und warum jetzt genau nur ein stilles Eröffnender Sir Hummus Kitchen ?“ frag ich einen der Gründer während ich meine erste Falafel hier verspeise (natürlich musste ich dem Hinweis folgen). Weil sie zwei Jahre gebraucht haben, bis sie mit ihrem Hummus voll zufrieden waren und gerade noch ihre Falafel Kreation perfektionieren, antwortet er. Mir schmeckt es auf jeden Fall jetzt schon hervorragend. Für die nächste Amsterdam-Reise bleibt für mich deswegen nur eine Frage: Ist das der Anfang von einer weiteren Tradition?

 

Amsterdam Sir HUmmus Ktichen Food spot Travelblog Guide2

 

Sir Hummus – Kitchen

Ruysdaelkade 181

1072 AT Amsterdam

 

 

Amsterdam-Travel-and-Foodguide-Travelblog-Fräulein-Anker

 

Gänzlich neu hingegen war mir die folgende Empfehlung und ihre Umgebung. Dabei liegt sie nur wenige Meter vom Amsterdamer Hauptbahnhof entfernt an der Dijsgracht. In der gleichnamigen Straße in der Nähe einer großen Kletterhalle befindet sich nämlich das Gelände des Mediamatic Biotoop: ein offener Bereich auf dem Kunst und Design auf Forschung treffen – und das Ganze auch noch mit gutem Essen kombiniert wird.

 

Eat dring Art vegan Resteraunt Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam

 

Das Restaurant Mediamatic ETEN ist somit nur ein Teil der spannenden Projekte, die hier am Wasser im Mediamatic Biotoop ihren Platz haben: Mehrere Gewächshäuser und Anbauflächen befinden sich drum herum sowie ein Co-Workings Space und ein urbanes Landwirtschaftsystem in dem ein Wasserkreislauf mit Fischen genutzt wird, um Lebensmittel zu produzieren. Kreativ wird es zudem durch viele Kunst-Installation auf dem Gelände.

 

Amsterdam-Dijsgracht-Vegan-Resteraunt-Mediamatic-FOOD-Eten

 

In dem besagten Restaurant werden neben vor Ort selbst angebauten Lebensmittel nur lokale, nachhaltige Bio-Zutaten genutzt. Von Sonntag bis Dienstag gibt es Pizza aus dem Lehmofen, der mit Holz angefeuert wird. Von Mittwoch bis Samstag steht ein Menü zur Auswahl, das man auch komplett vegan bestellen kann. Außerdem hoch im Kurs beim Essen hier am Wasser (mit Blick auf das berühmte Museum NEMO): Amsterdamer Craft Beer.

 

Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam Ij

 

Wenn das nicht eine schöne Aussicht für die nächste Amsterdamreise ist… Zur kompletten Sammlung aller Tipps für diese Stadt geht es übrigens hier entlang.

 

Mediamatic Dijkspark Urban gardening Amsterdam

 

Mediamatic ETEN

Dijkspark 6a

1019 BS Amsterdam